Munich Finalists Will Come To Stuttgart’s Mercedes Cup

Philipp Kohlschreiber

STUTTGART, May 3, 2016

The entry list of the €675,645 Mercedes Cup in Stuttgart, held at the Tennis Club Weissenhof from 4 to 12 June, has been released.

The champion as well as the runner-up of last week’s ATP 250 event in Munich, Philipp Kohlschreiber and Dominic Thiem, will come to Swabia. The German triumphed in Sunday’s final with a three set win over the promising Austrian youngster to capture his seventh title on the ATP World Tour.

Kohlschreiber made it into the final of the Mercedes Cup in 2013, when the tournament was held on clay. Back then, he lost to Fabio Fognini.

To win on grass in Stuttgart would be something very special, but the competition is huge. However, if I have a good start into the tournament and I am able to find my rhythm quickly, everything will be possible,” told Kohlschreiber, who will open his Stuttgart campaign on Tuesday, June 7, the so called “Deutschland Tag”. Further German players will step into action that day.

2014 US-Open champion and world number 11 Marin Cilic, number 14 Dominic Thiem, as well as two Frenchmen Gilles Simon (No 18) and Benoit Paire (No 20) will join Roger Federer (No. 3) to complete the five top 20-players in Stuttgart.

Entry list ATP 250 Stuttgart

Entry list ATP 250 Stuttgart

With US-American Taylor Fritz one of the young guns will appear at the Weissenhof. The teenager made it into the final of the Memphis Open in February, competing in his only third ATP World Tour event. By the age of 18 years and 109 days, he has been the youngest player to do so since Kei Nishikori 2008 in Delray Beach. Fritz is currently ranked on 71st position and the youngest player inside the top 100.

“Federer is leading a very strong and competitive field this year. The fans can look forward to an exciting week of tennis with high quality grass court matches. We are very happy that the German number one Philipp Kohlschreiber will return to the Mercedes Cup. We will decide next week, which German players will get a wild card for the main draw,” tournament director Edwin Weindorfer explained.

Tickets can be bought through the official website.