Aegon Championships Set For Strongest Ever Player-Field

LONDON, May 3, 2016

The Aegon Championships at The Queen’s Club is set for its strongest-ever line-up after the official entry list for the 2016 event, which takes place 13th-19th June, was revealed.

Andy Murray (No.2), Stan Wawrinka (No.4) and Rafael Nadal (No.5) will headline the field, with Jo Wilfried Tsonga (No.7) and Milos Raonic (No.10) also scheduled to appear. Exciting 20-year-old Nick Kyrgios had already committed to the event, and today’s entry list confirmed that the 2014 champion Grigor Dimitrov, the 2014 US Open winner Marin Cilic, and the highest-ranked player in the United States of America – John Isner – have entered. The 2009 US Open champion Juan Martin del Potro will also play, using a protected ranking of No.7.

Sixteen of the current Top 30 players in the world intend to play singles at the Aegon Championships which is as many as any ATP-500 event since the tournament category began. It equals the record of the China Open in Beijing where 16 of the world’s Top 30 players competed in 2009. Last year, 15 of the world’s Top 30 played at The Queen’s Club, which was three more than its previous record – 12 in 2011.

Full entry list

“The Aegon Championships has always punched above its weight in terms of attracting many of the best players in the world to compete, but this year’s field at The Queen’s Club is our best ever,” said Stephen Farrow, Tournament Director. “Centre Court tickets sold out in less than 24 hours, we have seen a significant increase in demand for hospitality packages this year, and with 16 of the world’s Top 30 intending to play, everything is set for a fantastic week in June.”

Tara McGregor-Woodhams, Head of Brand and Sponsorship Aegon UK at Aegon, added: “The Aegon Championships is the jewel in the crown of our partnership with British Tennis, and this is a stunning list of entrants. We are looking forward to seeing them in action at The Queen’s Club in June.”

The Aegon Championships was voted Tournament of the Year in its category for the third consecutive year by the players in January, winning the award in its debut year as an ATP-500 event.