Attractive Entry List For Inaugural WTA Mallorca Open

SANTA PONSA, May 4, 2016

The entry list for the inaugural WTA Mallorca Open, held from 11 to 19 June at the Santa Ponsa Tennis Club, has been released.

With Sabine Lisicki, Germany’s power lady number one will serve on the grass courts in Mallorca. Yet, the 26-year-old will face tough competition, as world number three Garbine Murguruza, former French Open champion Ana Ivanovic, ex world number one Jelena Jankovic, Canadian superstar Genie Bouchard as well as a German armada of Julia Görger, Annika Beck, Laura Siegemund and Anna-Lena Friedsam will appear on the Balearic Island.

Lisicki has already celebrated great success on the grass. The world number 50 made it into the final of the All-England Championships in Wimbledon in 2013, finishing runner-up to Marion Bartoli 4-6, 1-6. She has been the first German woman to reach a final of a Grand Slam tournament since Steffi Graf in 1999. Her career high was world number 12 in May 2012.

“I am really looking forward to Mallorca,” Lisicki told.

Players will also enjoy excellent conditions in Mallorca.

“The tournament will be played on the same surface as well as with the same balls, used in Wimbledon,” organizer Edwin Weindorfer stated.