Czechs Lead 2016 Dittelbrunn Open Entry List

Dittelbrunn Open in Hambach

HAMBACH, September 29, 2016

The ITF Pro Circuit returns to Hambach for the 11th edition of the Dittelbrunn Open, held from 3 to 9 October 2016 at the local Tennis Center. The $10,000 Future event kicks off the indoor swing of the German Masters Series, being the first of three tournaments taking place on Bavarian soil. The Dittelbrunn Open will be followed by the ITF events in Oberhaching and Ismaning, as well as the ATP Challenger in Eckental.

Thomas Heil

Dittelbrunn Open tournament director: Thomas Heil

The current entry list is led by Czechs Michal Konecny and Marek Jaloviec. The former is ranked world number 308 and claimed two ITF titles this season, in Turkey and Azerbaijan. Jaloviec is a lefty from Ostrava and has reached a new career high two weeks ago at 474th position. The 22-year-old also lifted two trophies in 2016. Neil Pauffly of Great Britain will try to capture his third title in Hambach.

Teenager Louis Wessels is the best ranked German in the field. The only 18-year-old from Bielefeld has enjoyed his best season so far, gaining his first win on the ATP World Tour by beating Steven Diez in the first round of the German Open in Hamburg. Wessels also reached the semi-finals of the ITF Überlingen Open in August and is the current world number 22 in the combined junior’s ranking.

Defending champion Maximilian Marterer will not return to the Tennis Center in Franconia. The 21-year-old world number 170 has started to establish himself at the ATP Challenger Tour by winning his first two titles during the Moroccan Tennis Tour this month. Same applies for local heroe Johannes Haerteis, who is injured, and cannot continue his bid for a three-peat in the doubles competition.

Spectators can enjoy free entrance during the first two days of the competition. During the week the “Match of the Day” is going to take place at 6pm. Ahead of the singles final on Sunday, ladies will receive a glass of sparkling wine for free.

Further information via the tournament’s official website.