RCT Barcelona Wins Spanish Team Championships

Spanish National Team Champions 2016: RCT Barcelona (photo: twitter)

The Reial Club de Tennis Barcelona-1899 captured the title of the 47th Spanish National Team Championships, winning the final on Saturday against Club de Tenis Valencia 4-1. The competition took place at the venue of the Tenis Club Tarragona from 3 to 5 November.

Roberto Carballés-Baena opened the final with a 6-1, 6-1 win over Pedro Martínez Portero. Jaume Munar emerged victorious from the battle of the teenagers with Carlos Taberner, winning 6-3, 7-6. Pablo Carreno-Busta benefited from the retirement of Daniel Gimeno-Traver, leading 4-1 in the first set and Albert Montanes sealed the victory with a 7-6, 6-4 win over Ricardo Ojeda in the last encounter. Marc Giner gained the only point for Valencia, winning  6-3, 4-6, 6-2 against Oriol Roca Batalla.

It was the third consecutive title for the RCT Barcelona.