Murray Clinches Year-End No.1 ATP Rankings For The First Time

World No.1 Andy Murray (photo: Red Photographic)

LONDON, November 21, 2016

Andy Murray has clinched year-end No. 1 in the Emirates ATP Rankings, the 17th different player to do so in history (since 1973). The milestone was achieved in dramatic fashion on Sunday when he beat his rival for top spot, Novak Djokovic, 6-3, 6-4 in the title match of the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals at The O2 in London. It was the first time in history that the year-end No. 1 ranking was on the line for both players in the final ATP World Tour match of the season.

It was also the first time since Lisbon in 2000 that the year-end No. 1 ranking was decided in the final. That year, Brazil’s Gustavo Kuerten defeated Andre Agassi of the United States in the final to finish No. 1 ahead of Russia’s Marat Safin.

The 29-year-old Briton, who replaced Serbia’s Djokovic at No. 1 on 7 November, has enjoyed a career-best season capturing nine titles – including Wimbledon, three ATP World Tour Masters 1000s and the Olympic gold medal – from 13 tour-level finals. It is the 13th straight season that the year-end World No. 1 ranking has been held by a member of the ‘Big Four’ – Roger Federer (2004-07, ’09), Rafael Nadal (2008, ‘10, ‘13), Djokovic (2011-12, ’14-15) or Murray (2016).

“It’s a very special day, playing against Novak in a match like this,” said Murray. “We’ve played in Grand Slam finals, Olympics and matches like this – it’s been a tough rivalry. I’ve lost many of them, but I am happy to have got the win today to clinch the year-end No. 1. It’s very special, it’s something that I never expected. My team and family have been a great help, making a lot of sacrifices for me and my tennis. I’d like to congratulate Novak on everything he has achieved this year.”

Chris Kermode, the ATP Executive Chairman and President, said, “What an amazing finish to the ATP World Tour season. To have the Top 2 players in the world battling it out for the No. 1 ranking in the final match of the year is unprecedented. Huge credit goes to both players for their phenomenal seasons, and congratulations to Andy on not only winning the season finale, but finishing as year-end No. 1 in the Emirates ATP Rankings for the first time. He joins an elite group of players to have achieved one of the greatest triumphs in sport in finishing the season as No.1.”

Since losing to Djokovic in the Mutua Madrid Open final on 8 May this year, when he trailed the Serbian by 9,025 points in the Emirates ATP Rankings, Murray has compiled a 58-4 match record. During his remarkable run, Murray has lifted trophies at Wimbledon (d. Raonic), three ATP World Tour Masters 1000s at the Internazionali BNL d’Italia (d. Djokovic), Shanghai Rolex Masters (d. Bautista Agut) and the BNP Paribas Masters (d. Isner), three ATP World Tour 500s at the Aegon Championships in London (d. Raonic), China Open in Beijing (d. Dimitrov) and the Erste Bank Open 500 in Vienna (d. Tsonga). He also the Rio Olympics gold medal (d. del Potro), and finished runner-up at Roland Garros (l. to Djokovic) and the Western & Southern Open in Cincinnati (l. to Cilic).

Murray, who has won 44 titles – including 14 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 crowns, is currently riding a career-best 24-match winning streak dating back to 16 September 2016. He has a 78-9 match record in 2016, which includes a 16-5 record against Top 10 opponents. On Sunday, Murray secured his fifth successive trophy and his first title at the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals.

Earlier this week, Andy’s older brother, Jamie Murray, was crowned year-end No. 1 in the Emirates ATP Doubles Team Rankings with Brazil’s Bruno Soares. It is the first time in the history of the official rankings that two brothers have finished year-end No. 1 in singles and doubles in the same season.


Year    Player
2016    Andy Murray (Great Britain)
2015    Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2014    Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2013    Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2012    Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2011    Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2010    Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2009    Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2008    Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2007    Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2006    Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2005    Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2004    Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2003    Andy Roddick (U.S.)
2002    Lleyton Hewitt (Australia)
2001    Lleyton Hewitt (Australia)
2000    Gustavo Kuerten (Brazil)
1999    Andre Agassi (U.S.)
1998    Pete Sampras (U.S.)
1997    Pete Sampras (U.S.)
1996    Pete Sampras (U.S.)
1995    Pete Sampras (U.S.)
1994    Pete Sampras (U.S.)
1993    Pete Sampras (U.S.)
1992    Jim Courier (U.S.)
1991    Stefan Edberg (Sweden)
1990    Stefan Edberg (Sweden)
1989    Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)
1988    Mats Wilander (Sweden)
1987    Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)
1986    Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)
1985    Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)
1984    John McEnroe (U.S.)
1983    John McEnroe (U.S.)
1982    John McEnroe (U.S.)
1981    John McEnroe (U.S.)
1980    Bjorn Borg (Sweden)
1979    Bjorn Borg (Sweden)
1978    Jimmy Connors (U.S.)
1977    Jimmy Connors (U.S.)
1976    Jimmy Connors (U.S.)
1975    Jimmy Connors (U.S.)
1974    Jimmy Connors (U.S.)
1973    Ilie Nastase (Romania)