Raonic Named 2016 Tennis Canada Male Player Of The Year

Milos Raonic

TORONTO, December 2, 2016

Tennis Canada announced Thursday that Milos Raonic has been named the country’s Male Player of the Year for a sixth straight season, with the world No. 3 picking up the most improved and singles player of the year honours as well. In addition, Daniel Nestor is the recipient of the Tennis Canada doubles player of the year award.

“This has been a phenomenal season for Canadian tennis, led by Milos’ record-breaking feats,” said Kelly Murumets, president and CEO, Tennis Canada. “He is taking tennis in Canada to new heights, and we couldn’t be prouder of everything he has accomplished. We are also so happy for Daniel and his incredible continued success; he is a true Canadian tennis legend. Both Milos and Daniel so deserve everything they have achieved, as the hard work and dedication they put into their craft is second to none. Congratulations and best of luck in 2017!”

Raonic just completed his best season on the ATP World Tour so far, ending the year at a new career-high ranking of world No. 3 – behind only Andy Murray and Novak Djokovic. His biggest result on the year was making his first Slam final at Wimbledon. The highest-ranked and most successful Canadian singles player ever, Raonic also won his eighth ATP title at Brisbane, defeating Roger Federer in the final, and finished runner-up at Indian Wells and Queen’s Club. Reaching five other semifinals at the Australian Open, Cincinnati, Beijing, Paris Masters, and ATP World Tour Finals, Raonic ended 2016 with a win-loss record of 52-17.

Thanks to his jump from No. 14 at the start of the year to a current No. 3, Raonic also is being awarded with most improved player of the year. Raonic noticeably took the next step in his game this season, upgrading his net game and overall movement on the court, to become one of the game’s most elite players. Among the players he beat in big matches in 2016 are Stan Wawrinka, Rafael Nadal, and Federer.

Nestor has taken back his perch as doubles player of the year for the 14th time in his career (also 2001-2013), after Vasek Pospisil claimed the honours the past two seasons. Nestor, who turned 44 in September, has shown no signs of slowing down. He claimed three ATP World Tour titles this year at Nottingham, Washington, and Antwerp to bring his career total to 91. His victories also make it an incredible 23 consecutive years in which he has captured at least one title.

In January, Nestor started the year by winning his 1,000th career match, becoming the first men’s doubles player to accomplish the feat and only the fourth ATP player overall behind Ivan Lendl, Jimmy Connors, and Roger Federer. The world No. 15 also made his 17th Slam final at the Australian Open, and competed in his sixth Olympic Games in Rio, falling just short of the podium in the bronze-medal match with Pospisil.

The Tennis Canada Excellence Awards are selected by a committee comprised of high-ranked Tennis Canada personnel and the country’s top national coaches. The 2016 female recipients will be announced on Friday.


Year Male Player of the Year Female Player of the Year
1982 Rejean Genois Marjorie Blackwood
1983 Glenn Michibata Carling Bassett
1984 Martin Wostenholme Carling Bassett
1985 Glenn Michibata Carling Bassett
1986 Andrew Sznajder Helen Kelesi
1987 Grant Connell Helen Kelesi
1988 Andrew Sznajder Jill Hetherington
1989 Andrew Sznajder Helen Kelesi
1990 Grant Connell Helen Kelesi
1991 Grant Connell Patricia Hy
1992 Grant Connell Patricia Hy
1993 Greg Rusedski Patricia Hy
1994 Sebastien Lareau Jana Nejedly
1995 Grant Connell Patricia Hy-Boulais
1996 Sebastien Lareau Patricia Hy-Boulais
1997 Daniel Nestor Patricia Hy-Boulais
1998 No record of award No record of award
1999 No record of award No record of award
2000 Daniel Nestor & Sebastien Lareau Sonya Jeyaseelan
2001 Daniel Nestor Jana Nejedly
2002 Frederic Niemeyer Maureen Drake
2003 Daniel Nestor Maureen Drake
2004 Daniel Nestor Aleksandra Wozniak
2005 Daniel Nestor Stephanie Dubois
2006 Frank Dancevic Aleksandra Wozniak
2007 Daniel Nestor Stephanie Dubois
2008 Daniel Nestor Aleksandra Wozniak
2009 Daniel Nestor Aleksandra Wozniak
2010 Daniel Nestor Rebecca Marino
2011 Milos Raonic Rebecca Marino
2012 Milos Raonic Aleksandra Wozniak
2013 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2014 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2015 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2016 Milos Raonic TBA