Nadal Wins First National Title And Adds Moya To His Coaching Team

Rafael Nadal and Marc López (photo: RFET)

MALLORCA, December 18, 2016

Rafael Nadal and Marc López captured the doubles title of the RFET Mapfre Spanish National Tennis Championships. In front of a packed Centre Court at the Rafa Nadal Academy in Manacor, the Olympic Champions had more problems than expected to overcome David Pérez Sanz and Jordi Muñoz Abreu, winning 7-6, 7-6.

The match was interrupted by rain in the second set and eventually finished indoors. It was Nadal’s first National title after he had lost the singles final 2003 to Feliciano López in Madrid. Marc López defended his doubles title he captured last year with Jaume Munar.

Moya Nadal

Moya joins Nadal coaching team

Later the day, Nadal announced that former World No. 1 Carlos Moya will join his coaching team.

“I am very excited to announce that Carlos Moya will join my team immediately and work together with Toni (Nadal) and Francisco Roig,” Nadal stated. “To have someone like Carlos who is not only a friend but also a very important person in my career is something special. He will be next to me at my practices and competition.”

Moya said: “Toni Nadal called me while I was at the IPTL competition. To be honest it was great to receive that call. To be able to help Rafa is something special for me and I am sure that together with Toni, Francisco and the rest of the team we have a great common project. Rafa is a special player and above all a great person and friend on which I have a lot of trust and confidence that will be able to continue winning important titles.”

Cabeza And Pous Take Women’s Doubles Title – Singles Finals Are Set

Estrella Cabeza and Laura Pous took the doubles title - photo: RFET

Estrella Cabeza and Laura Pous took the doubles title – photo: RFET

In the women’s competition, Estrella Cabeza from Sevilla and Barcelona’s Laura Pous clinched their third team title following their triumphs in 2006 and 2010. They won the final against Yvonne Cavallé from Mallorca and Arabela Fernández Rabener of Tenerife 6-1 6-2.

In Sunday’s men’s single final, top seed Albert Ramos will take on Roberto Carballés-Baena. The latter upset second seed Pablo Carreño-Busta, gaining his only second win in the pair’s 10th meeting, his first since 2010. Carballés-Baena won 7-6, 6-7, 6-2. 2012 runner-up Ramos defeated Rubén Ramírez Hidalgo 6-4, 6-2.

Top favourite Lara Arruabarrena will face Sara Sorribes for the women’s title. The World No. 66, who took the Spanish National title in 2014,  eased past Silvia Soler, winning 6-1, 6-1. Sorribes beat Tita Torró from Alicante and could become the only fourth player in history to lift the National singles trophy after she had won the title in all youth categories. The 20-year-old would join Conchita Martínez, Marta Marrero and Adriana González.