ATP Releases 2017 Garanti Koza Sofia Open Entry List

Sofia Open

SOFIA, December 27, 2016

The ATP announced Tuesday the final acceptance list for the second edition of the Garanti Koza Sofia Open. The ATP 250 tournament will be held at the“Arena Armeec” in the Bulgarian capital between 5 and 12 of February 2017.

21 players will enter the main draw directly plus three wild card and four players from the qualification. The organizers are expecting an extremely strong competition in February. 11 Top 50 players will appear in Sofia: Dominic Thiem (No. 8), David Goffin (No. 11), 2016 champion Roberto Bautista Agut (No.14), Bulgarian star Grigor Dimitrov (No.17), 2016 runner-up Viktor Troicki (No.29), Philipp Kohlschreiber (No.32), Gilles Muller (No.34), Martin Klizan (No.35), Marcos Baghdatis (No.36), Nicolas Almagro (No.44) and Andrey Kuznetsov (No.46).

So all participants in the semi-finals at the inaugural Garanti Koza Sofia Open this year – Klizan, Muller, Troicki and Bautista Agut, will come back for the second edition.

„There are 11 players in Top 50 and four in Top 20. Three of the participants are in Top 15, one – in Top 10. It will be a high-level tournament and the fans will enjoy great tennis the whole week in Sofia,” said the tournament director Paul McNamee.

Former Top 10-players, Marcos Baghdatis and Nicolas Almagro, will make their debut in Sofia in 2017.

Baghdatis reached a career high world number eight in August 2006 after reaching the final of the Australian Open. The 31-years old won four ATP trophies and played 13 finals in his career.

Almagro made it to the ninth position in the Emirates ATP Rankings in May 2011. The 31-year-old Murcia native captured 13 career titles.

Jerzy Janowicz took his place in the main draw with protected ranking. The former world number 94 has fallen to 280th position due to injury.

Entry List Garanti Koza Sofia Open 2017:

1. Dominic Thiem (Austria, №8)
2. David Goffin (Belgium, №11)
3. Roberto Bautista Agut (Spain, №14)
4. Grigor Dimitrov (Bulgaria, №17)
5. Viktor Troicki (Serbia, №29)
6. Philipp Kohlschreiber (Germany, №32)
7. Gilles Muller (Luxembourg, №34)
8. Martin Klizan (Slovak Republic, №35)
9. Marcos Baghdatis (Cyprus, №36)
10. Nicolas Almagro (Spain, №44)
11. Andrey Kuznetsov (Russia, №46)
12. Mikhail Youzhny (Russia, №57)
13. Robin Haase (Netherlands, №59)
14. Adrian Mannarino (France, №60)
15. Damir Dzhumhur (Bosnia and Herzegovina, №77)
16. John Millman (Australia, №84)
17. Steve Darcis (Belgium, №86)
18. Andreas Seppi (Italy, №87)
19. Nikoloz Basilashvili (Georgia, №94)
20. Jerzy Janowicz (Poland, №94/280)
21. Dudi Sela (Israel, №96).