Three Former Champions Will Return To Swiss Open Gstaad

Thomaz Bellucci

GSTAAD, June 14, 2017

Three former champions will return to the J. Safra Sarasin Swiss Open this year: Feliciano López of Spain, Russian Mikhail Youzhny and Thomaz Bellucci of Brazil will play the ATP 250 event held from 24 to 27 July 2017 in Gstaad.

López captured his fifth ATP career crown in the Swiss Alps last year and is a permanent guest at the tournament, returning for the 11th time. The 35-year-old will be joined by fellow Spaniard Roberto Bautista-Agut.

Bellucci will come to Gstaad for the eighth time. The World No. 57 from Sao Paulo only missed the tournament in 2011. At his first appearance in Gstaad, Bellucci battled through the qualifying to eventually take the title with a win over German Andreas Beck in the final. The 29-year-old repeated his triumph in 2012 to become the only third two-time champion in Gstaad after Alex Corretja and Jiri Novak.

Youzhny clinched the title in 2013. The line-up will be led by 2015 runner-up David Goffin from Belgium.

“I love the tournament and I am looking forward to return to the Swiss Alps this year. The conditions suit my game very well and I hope for another successful week,” Goffin told.

New Ticket System

Fans can buy a ticket via or and a random generator will determine its final day of validity. The organizers also presented the “Gstaad Tennis Jackpot”, in which spectators will have the chance to attend either the J.Safra Sarasin Swiss Open or the second edition of the Ladies Championships Gstaad, held the week before the men’s event for 25,- CHF.

Full Entry List (as of 12 June 2017)
1 Goffin, David BEL 13
2 Bautista Agut, Roberto ESP 19
3 Lopez, Feliciano ESP 33
4 Lorenzi, Paolo ITA 36
5 Troicki, Viktor SRB 40
6 Haase, Robin NED 43
7 Bellucci, Thomaz BRA 57
8 Sousa, Joao POR 60
9 Istomin, Denis UZB 74
10 Chardy, Jeremy FRA 80
11 Dolgopolov, Alexandr UKR 81
12 Lajovic, Dusan SRB 84
13 Olivo, Renzo ARG 85
14 Youzhny, Mikhail RUS 86
15 Gombos, Norbert SVK 89
16 Brown, Dustin GER 90
17 Copil, Marius ROU 91
18 Daniel, Taro JPN 93
19 Monteiro, Thiago BRA 96