The Nitto ATP Finals Draw Is Out

LONDON, November 8, 2017

World No. 1 Rafael Nadal was drawn in the same group as Dominic Thiem, Grigor Dimitrov and David Goffin for the Nitto ATP Finals, held from 12 to 19 November at the O2 in London.

Roger Federer will take on Alexander Zverev, Maric Cilic and Jack Sock in the opening round robin format. This is the result of the the draw ceremony, which took place on The Chris Evans Breakfast Show, live on BBC Radio 2 with Boris Becker, on Wednesday morning.

Singles – Group Pete Sampras
[1] Rafael Nadal (ESP)
[4] Dominic Thiem (AUT)
[6] Grigor Dimitrov (BUL)
[7] David Goffin (BEL)

Singles – Group Boris Becker
[2] Roger Federer (SUI)
[3] Alexander Zverev (GER)
[5] Marin Cilic (CRO)
[8] Jack Sock (USA)

Nadal, who has a 67-10 match record in 2017, has qualified for the season finale for the 13th successive year. The 31-year-old Spaniard finished runner-up in 2010 losing to Federer and in 2013 falling to Novak Djokovic.

Nadal was in doubt to appear at the Nitto ATP Finals but, according to his team, he will be fit.

“Rafa is fine, the knee is okay,” Nadal’s coach, Carlos Moya, said after taking part in a coaching workshop at the Next Gen ATP Finals in Milan. “He stopped just to take no risks. Rafa will be competitive in London because it’s the only big tournament he hasn’t won.” 

The Mallorca native pulled out of the Rolex Paris Masters before his quarterfinal match last week after experiencing discomfort in his right knee.

Experienced Federer Vs Debutant Zverev

Federer, who has a 52-12 career record at the Nitto ATP Finals, is looking to capture a seventh year-end title following his triumphs in 2003-04, 2006-07, 2010-11. The Swiss maestro has a 49-4 mark and an ATP World Tour-best seven titles this year.

Zverev will make his debut at the season finale.

It’s an honour to play there in London, it’s my first time and hopefully not my last,” Zverev said in Milan where he took part in an exhibition match. The 20-year-old German skipped the Next Gen ATP Finals in order to focus on London.

“I will try to prepare myself as well as I can and try to win many matches there.”

Doubles – Group Woodbridge/Woodforde
[1] Lukasz Kubot (POL) / Marcelo Melo (BRA)
[4] Jamie Murray (GBR) / Bruno Soares (BRA)
[5] Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
[7] Ivan Dodig (CRO) / Marcel Granollers (ESP)

Doubles – Group Eltingh/Haarhuis
[2] Henri Kontinen (FIN) / John Peers (AUS)
[3] Jean-Julien Rojer (NED) / Horia Tecau (ROU)
[6] Pierre-Hugues Herbert (FRA) / Nicolas Mahut (FRA)
[8] Ryan Harrison (USA) / Michael Venus (NZL)