RFET Launches National Spanish Tennis Championships In Granada

Presentation of Spain’s National Tennis Championships in Granada (photo: RFET)

GRANADA, December 5, 2017

The City Council of Granada hosted Tuesday’s morning launch of the MAPFRE National Spanish Tennis Championships in singles and doubles, which will be held from 11 to 17 December at the local Real Sociedad de Tenis.

Spanish National Tennis Championships 2017

Feliciano López and Carla Suárez will lead the line-up for the competition, which celebrates its 104th edition in the men’s category and its 90th edition in the women’s category. The Mayor of Granada, Francisco Cuenca, the President of the Royal Spanish Tennis Federation (RFET), Miguel Díaz, as well as the President of the RST Granada, Rafael Peregrín, attended the presentation.

During the championships will be remembered former Spanish tennis player and Granada native Manuel Orantes, who was active in the 1970s and 1980s. He won the US Open men’s singles in 1975, beating defending champion Jimmy Connors in the final. Orantes reached a career-high singles ranking of World No. 2. Orantes retired from professional tennis in 1983 and was inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame in 2012.

Roberto Carballés, runner-up last year and in 2014; Guillermo García López, finalist in 2004; and Nicolás Almagro, doubles champion in 2006 and 2007 will join the men’s competition. Fans will also be able to see a couple of promising Spanish tennis players in action such as Valencia’s Pedro Martinez Portero and Bernabé Zapata Miralles, or Malaga’s Alejandro Davidovich, Wimbledon junior’s champion this year.

Women’s defending champion Lara Arruabarrena, who also captured the title in 2014, will play in Granada, joined by Sara Sorribes and Maria Teresa Torró.