2018 Manerbio ATP Challenger Cancelled

ATP Challenger in Manerbio

STARNBERG, July 19, 2018

According to the Italian tennis website “Ubitennis”, the 42nd edition of the ATP Challenger tournament Internazionali di Manerbio been cancelled due to lack of finance. The clay-court event was scheduled to take place from 18 to 26 August 2018.

The first tennis tournament in Manerbio was held in 1974. It has been part of the ATP Challenger Tour since 1999. The total prize money offered was €43,000. With the relocation of the Cortina d’Ampezzo tournament, which will be played in Padua this year, Manerbio would have been the second smallest Italian town to host an ATP Challenger – only Ortisei has fewer inhabitants.

“We have the great pride of having hosted 41 total editions, of which the last fifteen with an ATP Challenger,” former tournament director Gianni Saldini was quoted on Ubitennis. A lot of well-known players participated in the tournament. David Ferrer won in 2002. Novak Djokovic battled through the qualifying in 2004, beat Paolo Lorenzi in a hard fought match before falling to Nicolas Almagro in the quarterfinals.

List of champions and finalists at ATP Challenger Manerbio:

Year Champion Runner-up Score
2017 Spain Roberto Carballés Baena Spain Guillermo García López 6–4, 2–6, 6–2
2016 Argentina Leonardo Mayer Serbia Filip Krajinović 7–6(7–3), 7–5
2015 Russia Andrey Kuznetsov Spain Daniel Muñoz de la Nava 6–4, 3–6, 6–1
2011 Romania Adrian Ungur Germany Peter Gojowczyk 4–6, 7–6(7–4), 6–2
2010 Netherlands Robin Haase Italy Marco Crugnola 6–3, 6–2
2009 Argentina Federico Delbonis Portugal Leonardo Tavares 6–1, 6–3
2008 Romania Victor Crivoi Belgium Christophe Rochus 7–6, 6–2
2007 Czech Republic Jiří Vaněk France Éric Prodon 6–0, 6–4
2006 Sweden Andreas Vinciguerra Chile Adrián García 7–6, 6–1
2005 Austria Oliver Marach Netherlands Melle van Gemerden 6–3, 6–2
2004 Spain Nicolás Almagro Italy Francesco Aldi 7–6, 6–4
2003 France Olivier Patience Argentina Martín Vassallo Argüello 3–6, 6–3, 7–6
2002 Spain David Ferrer Uzbekistan Vadim Kutsenko 6–2, 6–0
2001 Hungary Attila Sávolt Georgia (country) Irakli Labadze 7–5, 6–2
2000 Italy Stefano Tarallo Belgium Kris Goossens 6–3, 6–4
1999 Hungary Attila Sávolt France Thierry Guardiola 6–4, 7–6