Bouchard Receives Wild Card Into Rogers Cup

MONTREAL, July 20, 2018 (Press Release)

Tennis Canada announced on Friday that Canadian Eugenie Bouchard has received a wild card for the 2018 Rogers Cup presented by National Bank. In 2016, in Montreal, Bouchard reached the third round after notably eliminating Lucie Safarova of the Czech Republic and Dominika Cibulkova of Slovakia.

“Eugenie is currently showing great things and we hope that she can keep her momentum going in Montreal,” said Eugène Lapierre, Tournament Director of the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank. “She gave fans a great show back in April when she got two important wins at the most recent Fed Cup tie. She also thrilled the crowds at the 2016 Rogers Cup presented by National Bank. We can not wait to see her in action at home once again. It will be a great way to kick-off the tournament to see her play on Centre Court on the first day of the main draw.”

In fact, Bouchard is currently on a rather successful streak. After winning her three qualifying matches and reaching the first round at Wimbledon, she has continued her winning ways at the tournament in Gstaad, Switzerland, where she has reached the semi-finals with her 7-5, 6-0 victory over Russian Veronika Kudermetova. She defeated local favourite Timea Bascinszky, a former Top 10 player, in the first round and then went on to eliminate Viktorija Golubic also of Switzerland, the tournament’s eight seed. Tomorrow, she will take on the winner of the match between Samantha Stosur of Australia and Alize Cornet of France for a spot in the finals at the WTA International event.

In action on Monday afternoon
Bouchard is scheduled to play her first round match at Rogers Cup during the day session on Monday, August 6, unless she has to face a player who reaches the final in either San Jose or Washington on August 5. She will find out the identity of her opponent during the official draw, which will take place on Friday, August 3.
Two more wild cards will be awarded to Canadian players. They will be announced during the week of July 30.