23rd Annual USTA Claremont Pro Classic To Take Place Next Week

Last year’s Claremont finalists Martin Redlicki and Karue Sell

CLAREMONT, September 7, 2018 (Press Release)

The USTA Claremont Club Pro Classic will celebrate its 23rd year, and once again will feature some of the rising stars in pro tennis.

The tournament is the first of three consecutive $15,000 USTA Pro Circuit hard-court men’s events held in Southern California following the US Open.

Past or current UCLA Bruins have dominated in recent years as there have been seven Bruin finalists over the past six years. Recent UCLA graduate Martin Redlicki advanced to the Claremont singles final last year losing to his one-time Bruin teammate Karue Sell in a three-set final. Redlicki is currently ranked No. 620 in the ATP World Tour rankings and should be seeded among the top eight players.

Joao Lucas Reis Da Silva will be the top-seeded player and is currently ranked No. 602 in the ATP World Tour rankings. Reis Da Silva is a native of Recife, Brazil, and is 18 years old.

Henry Craig of Murrieta is ranked just outside the world top 600 and will be seeded just ahead of Redlicki, who comes in currently ranked No. 614 in the world.

Other Americans in the main draw are: Paul Oosterbaan, Trevor Johnson, Sumit Sarkar, Alec Adamson and USC’s No. 1 player Brandon Holt.

In qualifying SoCal players Logan Smith (USC), Daniel Cukierman (USC), Keegan Smith and Jacob Bullard (future University of Texas) are all entered.

Qualifying concludes on Monday, Sept. 10, with main draw singles and doubles matches starting on Tuesday. The doubles final is scheduled for Friday, the singles semifinals Saturday and the final on Sunday, Sept. 16.

Already granted entry into the main draw of singles by way of winning the Claremont Club Wild Card Tournaments in July are high school sophomore Zachary Svajda from San Diego and former UCLA player Gage Brymer of Irvine.

Claremont Past Champions


Year    Winner                                    Runner-Up

2017    Karue Sell                               Martin Redlicki

2016    Sebastian Fanselow               Evan Zhu

2015    Deiton Baughman                   Mackie McDonald

2014    Dennis Nevolo                        Salvatore Caruso (ITA)

2013    Marcos Giron (USA)               Dennis Novikov (USA)

2012    Daniel Kosakowski (USA)      Prakash Amritraj (IND)

2011    Steve Johnson (USA)             Darian King (BAR)

2010    Gary Sacks (RSA)                  Devin Britton (USA)

2009    Matej Bocko (SVK)                 Bradley Klahn (USA)

2008    Tigran Martirosyan (ARM)      Adriano Biasella (ITA)

2007    Carsten Ball (AUS)                 Robert Yim (USA)

2006    Dudi Sela (ISR)                       Sascha Kloer (GER)

2005    Benedikt Dorsch (GER)          Tyler Cleveland (USA)

2004    Bobby Reynolds (USA)          Huntley Montgomery (USA)

2003    Glenn Weiner (USA)               Jimy Szmymanski (VEN)

2002    Dmitry Tursunov (RUS)          Raven Klaasen (RSA)

2001    Marq Foster (USA)                 Huntley Montgomery (USA)

2000    Geoff Abrams (USA)              Daniel Andersson (SWE)

1999    Ryan Wolters (USA)               Jordan Kerr (AUS)

1998    Ville Liukko (FIN)                    Michael Mather (USA)

1997    Ofer Sela (ISR)                       Daniele Bracciali (ITA)

1996    Glenn Weiner (USA)               Cecil Mamiit (PHI)


Year    Winner

2017    Deiton Baughman (USA) – Karue Sell (USA)

2016    Alexios Halebian (USA) – Luis Patino (MEX)

2015    Jean-Yves Aubone (USA) – Gonzales Austin (USA)

2014    Jeff Dadamo (USA) – Dennis Nevolo (USA)

2013    Carsten Ball (AUS) – Daniel Garza (MEX)

2012    Devon Britton (USA) – Reid Carleton (USA)

2011    Alexandre Lacroix (FRA) – Sanam Singh (IND)

2010    Taylor Fogleman (USA) – Chris Kearney (USA)

2009    Brett Joelson (USA) – Ashwin Kumar (USA)

2008    Marcus Fugate (USA) – Nima Roshan (AUS)

2007    Nikita Kryvonos (USA) – Michael McClune (USA)

2006    Ryler DeHeart (USA) – Dennis Zivkovic (USA)

2005    K.C. Corkery (USA) – James Pade (USA)

2004    Nick Rainey (USA) – Brian Wilson (USA)

2003    K.C. Corkery (USA) – James Pade (USA)

2002    Chris Magyary (USA) – Mirko Pehar (USA)

2001    Sebastien Jaeger (GER) – Alexander Waske (GER)

2000    Levar Harper-Griffith (USA) – Robert Kendrick (USA)

1999    Mark Loughrin (USA) – Ryan Wolters (USA)

1998    Simon Larose (CAN) – Jocelyn Robichaud (CAN)

1997    Lars Hjarrand (NOR) – Ross Loel (USA)

1996    Sascha Bandermann (GER) – Glenn Weiner (USA)