Tiburon Challenger Qualifying Final Round Is Set

Jenson Brooksby

TIBURON, September 24, 2018

Day two of the Wells Fargo Tiburon Challenger qualifying rounds saw action-packed matches at the Tiburon Peninsula Club. Players advancing to the third and final qualifying round included Roberto Ortega-Olmedo who ended Marcus Giron’s run, Jan Choinski who beat Alejandro Gomez, Pablo Vivero Gonzalez who took out Alejandro Gonzalez, Alex Sarkissian who beat Mitchell Krueger, Luke Saville who beat Renzo Olivo, Cem Ilkel who beat Jenson Brooksby, Steven Diez who beat Dayne Kelly and Liam Broady who took out Jared Hiltzik.

Number-one seed in the qualifying round, Great Britain’s Liam Broady. rallied from a 1-4 deficit in the second set to win in straights 6-3 7-5. His performance today sets the stage for a showdown against Steven Diez of Canada for a spot in the main draw. This is sure to be a great match with two in-form players hungry to advance.

Aussie Luke Saville will take on Turkey’s Cem Ilkel in another battle for one of the valuable main-draw positions. Saville had a very successful juniors career, winning the Wimbledon Junior Singles title in 2011 and the Australian Open Juniors in 2012, and he is well on his way to making his mark on the ATP Challenger Tour.

Main draw matches will start tomorrow with our first seed, Spain’s Marcel Granollers, coming up against US-American Evan King, which is sure to be an action-packed match. Jay Clarke of Great Britain will also be up against US-wildcard JC Aragone. Other US-Americans in action on Monday are Bjorn Fratangelo, who plays Pedja Krstin of Serbia, and Noah Rubin who’ll take on Dutchman Thiemo De Bakker.

Qualifying Singles Second Round

[1] L. Broady (GBR) d J. Hiltzik (USA) 63 75

[2] C. Ilkel (TUR) d [WC] J. Brooksby (USA) 64 46 64

A. Sarkissian (USA) d [3] M Krueger (USA) 62 64

[4] J. Choinski (GER) d A. Gomez (COL) 64 16 60

[7] R. Ortego-Olmedo (ESP) d M. Giron (USA) 63 16 75

S. Diez (CAN) d D. Kelly (AUS) 46 76(5)

L. Saville (AUS) d R. Olivo (ARG) 60 64

P Vivero Gonzales (ESP) d A Gonzales (COL) 63 61

Qualifying Doubles First Round

[1] Hans Hach Verdugo (MEX)/L. Saville (AUS) d [WC) Tom Fawcett/Sebastian Korda (USA)

[2] S. Galdos (PER)/M-A. Huesler (SUI) d H. Heliovaara (FIN)/H. Laaksonen (SUI) 63 26 10-4