Portugal And Slovakia Join Line-Up For 2019 Davis Cup Qualifiers

Davis Cup

ITF Press Release, October 29, 2018

The ITF and Kosmos Tennis announced today that Portugal and Slovakia complete the line-up for the 2019 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Qualifiers to be held on 1-2 February.

Portugal and Slovakia are the two remaining nations to qualify from the Europe/Africa region based on the Davis Cup Nations Ranking of Monday 29 October following the 2018 Europe/Africa Zone Group I play-offs.

In the play-offs, Portugal defeated South Africa 4-0 on 19-20 October, and Slovakia defeated Belarus 3-1 on 26-27 October.

The draw to determine the opponents for Portugal and Slovakia in the 2019 Qualifiers will be held at the ITF offices in London on Tuesday 30 October at 09:30 GMT. The two nations will be drawn against Canada and Kazakhstan, whose opponents were still to be confirmed at the draw for the 2019 Qualifiers on 26 September.

Based on previous meetings between the two nations, Canada would be away to Portugal or Slovakia, while Kazakhstan would be at home against Portugal or Slovakia.

The full draw is as follows:

2019 Qualifiers (1-2 February)

Brazil (c) v Belgium (s)

Uzbekistan (c) v Serbia (s)

Australia (c) (s) v Bosnia/Herzegovina

India (c) v Italy (s)

Germany (c) (s) v Hungary

Switzerland (c) (s) v Russia

Kazakhstan (s) v Europe/Africa Nation TBC

Czech Republic (c) (s) v Netherlands

Colombia (c) v Sweden (s)

Austria (c) (s) v Chile

Canada (s) v Europe/Africa Nation TBC

China, P.R. (c) v Japan (s)

(s) denotes seeded nation

(c) denotes choice of ground

The 12 winning nations in the Qualifiers will compete in the 2019 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas finals at La Caja Magica in Madrid on 18-24 November. They will join the four countries that reached the semifinals this year (France, Croatia, United States and Spain), and two wildcards: Argentina and Great Britain.