2019 BMW Open Entry List Revealed

Philipp Kohlschreiber with tournament director Patrik Kühnen at the Hearthouse in Munich (photo: MMP)

MUNICH, March 21, 2019

The BMW Open by FWU is the first of four German tournaments on the season’s ATP Tour calendar, contested in Bavaria’s picturesque capital city of Munich. The 2019 edition of the tournament will be held on 29 April – 5 May. Organizers of the ATP 250 event released the entry list on Thursday.

The field will be led by two-time champion Alexander Zverev, who lifted the trophy last year. The World No. 3 will be joined by Italy’s Roberto Cecchinato, Roberto Bautista Agut of Spain, Briton Kyle Edmund, Marcos Fucsovics of Hungary and Diego Schwartzman from Argentina.

Alongside Zverev only two more Germans are part of the line-up: four-time titlist Philipp Kohlschreiber (2007, 2012, 2016, 2017) and Jan-Lennard Struff.

“Everyone knows that the BMW Open by FWU is my favourite tournament on the ATP Tour,” Kohlschreiber said at the Hearthouse in Munich. “It is a highly professional tournament with a family environment. Players feel comfortable here.”

Despite the international field, Germans have won the title in Munich nine times since 1974, with home favourites Kohlschreiber (2016) and Zverev (2017, 2018) winning the past three editions of the event.

Plenty of action is going to happen beside the courts, as Ronan Keating will be live on stage on 4th May during the FWU-Night. Former Wimbledon champion Michael Stich will receive the Iphitos Award.

For tickets, please visit the tournament’s official homepage.