US Davis Cup Legends Together Again

James Blake, Andy Roddick, Mike Bryan and Bob Bryan during the Davis Cup interview at the 2019 US Open. (photo: Mike Lawrence/USTA)

NEW YORK, August 23, 2019 (Press Release)

The Finals might still be months away, but the Davis Cup by Rakuten has enjoyed a high profile week in New York City, with the famous Davis Cup trophy one of the highlights of US Open Fan Week.

Fan Week is a recent innovation at the US Open, allowing tennis fans the chance to soak up the US Open atmosphere for free before the main draw begins.

As well as being on display for fans to admire, the victorious USA team from 2007 reunited to grab a quick snap with the trophy. Andy Roddick, James Blake and the Bryan brothers, Bob and Mike, were the quartet who won most recent of the Americans’ 32 Davis Cup titles, and all four were on site in New York this week.

USA are the most successful nation in Davis Cup history. Apart from the 32 titles, the Americans hold the record for most consecutive wins, having notched 17 victories without defeat between 1968 and 1973. USA won the first-ever edition of the Davis Cup, defeating a team from the British Isles 119 ago, in 1900.

The trophy will remain at Flushing Meadows in the coming days giving fans further opportunity to take pictures next to it.

The Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals take place in Madrid on 18-24 November. Having reached the semifinals last year, USA qualified for the 2019 Finals automatically and will be seeded sixth in Madrid. Captained by Mardy Fish, the Americans will compete in Group F alongside Italy and Canada.

Tickets on sale now!

Tickets for the Davis Cup by Rakuten Madrid Finals, which will be held from November 18 to 24 at La Caja Mágica in Madrid, are on sale. Tickets start from €25 and are available via purchase on Special rates for children are also included.

The 18 teams competing to become world champion and raise the trophy are Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, the Netherlands, Russia, Serbia, Spain and the United States.

The Davis Cup Finals begin with a group phase of 18 qualified teams competing in six groups of three countries competing against each other, each tie consisting of three matches (two singles and one doubles) in three sets with tie break matches. The six group winners, plus the best two seconds — based on the number of matches, sets, games and points earned — will qualify for the quarterfinals. The Davis Cup World Champions will be crowned at the end of the knockout phase.