Germany’s National Tennis Championships: Main Draws Are Set

Germany’s National Tennis Championships in Biberach a. d. Riss (photo: Jürgen Hasenkopf / DTB)

BIBERACH, December 10, 2019 (by Dietmar Kaspar)

The 48th edition of the German National Tennis Championships, held at the WTB indoor tennis centre in Biberach an der Riß, is taking place from 8-15 December. By tradition the main draw ceremony took place inside Biberach’s town hall on Monday afternoon.

Maden withdraws

Julian Lenz is the top seed of the men’s draw. The 26-year-old Giessen native, who played college tennis for Baylor University, will open his title bid after a first-round bye against either teenager Milan Welte or a qualifier. Eighteen-year-old Welte caused a sensation at this year’s US Open Junior Championships by reaching the quarter-finals as a qualifier.

The No. 1 of the entry list, Yannick Maden of the local Württemberg Tennis Federation (WTB), was forced to withdraw due to flu. „It’s a pity, but his health has priority,” said Stefan Hofherr, tournament director and new elected president of the WTB. „We would have liked to have him here, but we wish him all the best from here for the next season.”

2017 champion Daniel Masur will now be the tournament’s second favourite, facing the winner of the encounter between Tom Schönenberg and a qualifier after a bye in the first round.

Hobgarski seeks first title

The women’s draw is led by Neunkirchen-born Katharina Hobgarski, who appeared at Grand-Slam level for the second time at this year’s US Open qualifying following her debut in 2017. After the a first-round bye, the 22-year-old will meet the winner of the clash between Anja Wildgruber and Emily Seibol.

Second seed Antonia Lottner, who clinched the trophy of the German championships in 2014, will take on either Sarah Müller or a qualifier for her opening match in the second round. Lottner is joined by fellow Porsche talent team member Jule Niemeier, who is seeded third.

Main draw action with the top eight favourites will start on Wednesday. Mats Moraing and Anna-Lena Friedsam won the singles titles last year.