Tsonga Joins Rotterdam Line-Up

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga

ROTTERDAM, December 31, 2019 (Press Release)

Organizers have unveiled the entry list for the 47th edition of the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament. The most striking entry that was added is Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, the winner of the tournament in 2017. With no less than 10 players from the global top-20 at the start, there is once again a strong field of competitors to be seen in Rotterdam Ahoy.

Tournament director Richard Krajicek said: “It is the playerfield that we aim for every year, wide with many top players. By doing so you can see beautiful tennis every day and there is a high chance of exciting matches ever day. The mix of young toptalent and established names is expected to lead to beautiful duels.”

Three former winners, four players from the top 10

Three former winners of the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament are at the start again : Stan Wawrinka (2015), Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (2017) and Gaël Monfils (2019). Defending champion Monfils is also one of the four players from the top 10 who can be seen in Rotterdam. Daniil Medvedev (5), Stefanos Tsitsipas (6) and Roberto Bautista Agut (9) are also among the global elite.

France, Russia, Canada and Spain with strong contingent

With Gael Monfils, Lucas Pouille, Benoit Paire, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Adrian Mannarino, France has five players playing in Rotterdam Ahoy. Russia delegates three players with list leader Daniil Medvedev, Karen Khachanov and Andrey Rublev. Recent Davis Cup winner Spain is represented by Roberto Bautista Agut and Pablo Carreno Busta. The two Canadian top talents Denis Shapovalov and Felix Auger-Aliassime can also be seen in action again.


The first wildcard has already been assigned to Jannik Sinner, the winner of the NextGen ATP Finals in Milan. The remaining two wildcards are allocated at a later stage.

Richard Krajicek said: “As usual, we make a wildcard available to a top international talent, which has worked out well with Federer, Dimitrov, Tsitsipas and Auger-Aliassime. Jannik Sinner is seen as the greatest talent of the moment. A wildcard is also expected to go to a Dutchman, and we will hold one until the last moment, in case a good player wants to register last-minute.”

Daniil Medvedev
Stefanos Tsitsipas
Roberto Bautista Agut
Gael Monfils
David Goffin
Fabio Fognini
Denis Shapovalov
Stan Wawrinka
Karen Khachanov
Grigor Dimitrov
Felix Auger-Aliassime
Lucas Pouille
Andrey Rublev
Benoit Paire
Nikoloz Basilashvili
Pablo Carreno Busta
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
Jan-Lennard Struff
Hubert Hurkacz
Filip Krajinovic
Daniel Evans
Adrian Mannarino
Radu Albot

Jannik Sinner
The field of participants is supplemented with:
– Two wildcards
– Any A + Wildcard
– Any Special Exempt
– Four qualifiers