Rinderknech Starts Quimper Campaign With Win

QUIMPER, January 29, 2020

Arthur Rinderknech continues his excellent run of form in Brittany, France by reaching the second round of the €46,600 Open Quimper Bretagne Occidentale. The 24-year-old Frenchman, who captured his maiden trophy on the ATP Challenger Tour at the Open Blot Rennes last Sunday, defeated compatriot Antoine Escoffier 7-6(4), 7-6(5) on Tuesday afternoon at the Parc des Expositions Quimper Cornouaille.

Rinderknech fired 18 aces and won 80 per cent of his first-service points to secure victory in one hour and 43 minutes. The World No. 329 will next take on No. 4 seeded Frenchman Enzo Couacaud.

Tobias Kamke edged past French wild card entry Valentin Royer 7-6(4), 6-2. The 33-year-old German, who fell to Rinderknech in the semi-finals in Rennes, capitalized on four of his five break point chances to set a second-round clash with the tournament’s top seed Guillermo Garcia-Lopez of Spain.

No. 2 seed Danilo Petrovic of Serbia, who also made it to the stage of the last four last week, will open his title bid in Quimper against Cem Ilkel. The 24-year-old from Turkey came back from a set down to beat Viktor Durasovic of Norway 4-6, 6-4, 6-4 on Monday. The encounter lasted one hour and 55 minutes.

Singles – Second Round

[5] M. Janvier (FRA) d L. Klein (SVK) 63 76(3)
[7] B. Zapata Miralles (ESP) d N. Serdarusic (CRO) 76(4) 63
M. Zverev (GER) d [8] H. Moriya (JPN) 62 76(5)
V. Kopriva (CZE) d [10] T. Lamasine (FRA) 64 76(6)
D. Masur (GER) d [12] M. Moraing (GER) 36 64 76(4)
[15] R. Ortega-Olmedo (ESP) d L. Vanni (ITA) 76(4) 61
[16] M. Bourgue (FRA) d T. Machac (CZE) 76(3) 64
First Round
T. Kamke (GER) d [WC] V. Royer (FRA) 76(4) 62
M. Guinard (FRA) d R. Bemelmans (BEL) 76(6) 76(3)
A. Rinderknech (FRA) d [Q] A. Escoffier (FRA) 76(4) 76(5)
T. Gabashvili (RUS) d [Q] L. Musetti (ITA) 63 76(6)

Doubles – First Round

[4] R. Galloway (USA) / H. Hach Verdugo (MEX) d [WC] Q. Gueydan (FRA) / M. Moysan (FRA) 46 61 10-5
[WC] E. Couacaud (FRA) / A. Olivetti (FRA) d A. Arnaboldi (ITA) / A. Pellegrino (ITA) 61 64
Z. Kolar (CZE) / S. Walkow (POL) d L. Miedler (AUT) / M. Moraing (GER) 62 75