ITF World Tennis Tour – Round-Up CW36

MUNICH, September 9, 2020 (by Dietmar Kaspar)

M25 Caslano CH – Sandro Ehrat dominates on home soil

Sandro Ehrat was crowned champion of the M15 Caslano tournament held at the venue of TC Caslano. The Swiss Davis Cup-competitor clinched the title without dropping a set during the tournament.

The Schaffhausen native made the last step to the final by beating 21-year-old Francesco Forti from Italy in the semi-finals.

Italian No. 6 seed Alessandro Bega battled past current No.1 in ITF Junior Rankings Harold Mayot from France in the stage of the final four in three sets. Eighteen-year-old Mayot, who is coached by former World No. 10 Thierry Tulasne, won the juniors title of the Australian Open in 2020.

Unseeded Ehrat capitalized on five of his six break-point chances in the title match and only lost two service games to secure a 6-4, 6-2 victory. The 29-year-old, who had been sidelined from the courts due to a hip surgery for two years, celebrated his third win in as many meetings against his rival of the same age and lifted his 11th singles trophy on the ITF World Tennis Tour.

Alexander Erler and David Pichler captured the doubles trophies. The No. 2 seeded Austrians beat Harold Mayot and Antoine Cornut Chauvinc from France in the championship match by the score of 7-5, 6-4.

M15 Novomoskovsk UKR – Bogdan Bobrov claims another title on clay

Bogdan Bobrov is the champion of the Lake Park Open hosted at Novomokovsk in the Ukraine.

The 22-year-old Russian eased past Yaraslav Shila from Belarus in the semi-finals in three sets.

The tournament’s No. 6 Oleksii Krutykh from the Ukraine advanced to the final with a straight-set win against Polish Wojciech Marek.

No. 3 seeded Bobrov won 80 per cent of his first-service points in the title match to seal a 6-3, 6-3 win against his 20-year-old opponent after one hour and 38 minutes. The Penza-born celebrated his third clay-court singles title on the ITF World Tennis Tour.

The top seeded duo Vladyslav Orlov  from the Ukraine and Denis Yevseyev of Kazakhstan took the doubles trophy following a 6-4- 5-7, 13-11 victory in the championship match against Wojcech Marek and Eric Vanshelmboim from the Ukraine.