Musetti Leads Italian Contingent At Val Gardena Challenger

Lorenzo Musetti (photo: Marco Wanker)

ORTISEI, November 10, 2020

World No. 98 Yannick Hanfmann leads the entry list of the 11th edition of the Sparkasse Challenger Val Gardena Südtirol held at the Tennis Club Ortisei, Italy, from November 16 to 22. The 27-year-old German will be joined in South Tyrol by fellow Top-100 player Emil Ruusuvuori from Finland.

Teen sensation Lorenzo Musetti leads a strong contingent of Italian players. The 18-year-old, who clinched his maiden trophy on the ATP Challenger Tour in September on home soil in Forli, advanced to the quarterfinals of the indoor hard-court tournament last year. With Lorenzo Giustino and Federico Gaio two more local favourites will be part of the 32-man draw. The Italian Tennis Federation has awarded main draw wild cards to teenagers Guilio Zeppieri and Luca Nardi. The third wild card will go to a local player from Val Gardena: either to Partic Prinoth from St. Christina or Erwin Tröbinger from Wolkenstein.

Defending champion Jannik Sinner will not return to Ortisei. The World No. 44, who is playing at the Sofia Open this week, will finish his season after the ATP 250 tournament in Bulgaria. “His coach Riccardo Piatti has done everything possible to bring Jannik to Ortisei and we even thought of upgrading the event to an ATP Challenger 90 tournament in order to be able to give Sinner a wild card,” organizer Ellis Kasslatter said. “But we also understand that Jannik has to think about his future and needs a break, as he wants to travel to Australia at the beginning of December.” 

Andreas Seppi, champion of the tournament in 2013 and 2014, will also skip this year’s event, which will be held according to a strict hygiene protocol and without spectators.

Entry list

Yannick Hanfmann GER 95
Emil Ruusuvuori FIN 98
Yasutaka Uchiyama JPN 99
Aslan Karatsev RUS 113
Ilya Ivashka BLR 114
Damir Dzumhur BIH 115
Evgeny Donskoy RUS 119
Lorenzo Musetti ITA 124
Jozef Kovalik SVK 126
Antoine Hoang FRA 129
Federico Gaio ITA 136
Lorenzo Giustino ITA 146
Martin Klizan SVK 148
Blaz Rola SLO 152
Jurij Rodionov AUT 153
Marc-Andrea Huesler SUI 154