Carballes Baena Leads Quarterfinals Line-Up At Guayaquil Challenger

STARNBERG, November 20, 2020

Six players from Europe and two from Argentina are still in the race for the title and the 80 ATP Ranking points awarded by the Challenger Ciudad de Guayaquil COPA BANCO GUAYAQUIL presentado por CNT, which will be held until November 22 at the Anexo Guayaquil Tenis Club.

Roberto Carballes Baena remains the highest-ranked player left in the singles draw of the $52,080 clay-court tournament in Ecuador, which takes place behind closed doors due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. The World No. 103 from Spain defeated Renzo Olivo of Argentina 6-4, 6-4 in his second-round match on Thursday. Carballes Baena saved all three break points he faced and won 56 per cent of the total points played to prevail after one hour and 49 minutes.

“It was a very tough match, each rally was a 20-ball point and I got used to the heat and humidity little by little. I had practiced for about five days on the courts here before this tournament. I feel happy that every day I am playing a little better,” Carballes Baena said.

The No. 2 seed from Tenerife, who is seeking his first Challenger trophy since Lisbon last year, will next take on No. 5 seed Pedro Sousa of Portugal. The 32-year-old Lisbon native came back from a set down to overcome Vit Kopriva from the Czech Republic 1-6, 6-3, 6-4.

Qualifier Jesper de Jong caused the upset of the day, knocking out No. 8 seed Alejandro Tabilo from Chile, 6-2, 6-2. The World No. 349 from the Netherlands sent down six aces and won 76 per cent of his first-service points to secure victory in one hour and 15 minutes. De Jong, coached by former doubles World No. 1 Paul Haarhuis, will next challenge Oriol Roca Batalla, who also battled his way through the qualifying. The 27-year-old Spaniard beat Gonzalo Escobar of Ecuador 6-4, 6-3 in 70 minutes.

Thursday Results – Second Round

Roberto Carballés Baena (ESP) def. Renzo Olivo (ARG) 6-4, 6-4

Oriol Roca Batalla (ESP) def. Gonzalo Escobar (ECU)   6-4, 6-3

Jesper De Jong (NED) def. Alejandro Tabilo (CHI) 6-2, 6-2

Pedro Sousa (POR) def. Vit Kopriva (CZH)   1-6, 6-3, 6-4