An Australian Open Like No Other

Novak Djokovic (photo: Tennis Australia/ SCOTT BARBOUR)

MELBOURNE, February 22, 2020 (Australian Open Press Release)

A tournament like no other, played in front of 130,374 fans, has seen Novak Djokovic (SRB) and Naomi Osaka (JPN) crowned the Australian Open singles champions for 2021.

AO 2021 champions

*      [1] Novak Djokovic (SRB) claimed a record ninth Australian Open men’s title and his 18th Grand Slam defeating [4] Daniil Medvedev (RUS) 7-5 6-2 6-2

*      [3] Naomi Osaka (JPN) defeated [22] Jennifer Brady (USA) 6-4 6-3 to win her fourth Grand Slam title and second Australian Open women’s singles championship

*      [2] Aryna Sabalenka (BLR) / Elise Mertens (BEL) defeated [3] Barbora Krejcikova (CZE) / Katerina Siniakova (CZE) 6-2 6-3 to win their first Australian Open women’s doubles title

*      [9] Ivan Dodig (CRO) / Filip Polasek (SVK) claimed their first Grand Slam title defeating [5] Rajeev Ram (USA) / Joe Salisbury (GBR)

*      [6] Rajeev Ram (USA) / Barbora Krejcikova (CZE) defeated [WC] Matt Ebden / Sam Stosur (AUS) 6-1 6-4 to claim the pair’s second Australian Open mixed doubles title in two years

*      Joachim Gerard (BEL) won his first Grand Slam title, defeating Alfie Hewett (GBR) 6-0 4-6 6-4 in the men’s wheelchair singles final

*      [1] Diede de Groot (NED) defeated [2] Yui Kamiji (JPN) 6-3 6-7(4) [10-4] to win the women’s wheelchair singles title and claim her third Australian Open trophy

*      [1] Diede de Groot (NED) / Aniek van Koot (NED) and [1] Gordon Reid (GBR) / Alfie Hewett (GBR) won the women’s and men’s wheelchair doubles titles respectively

*      [1] Dylan Alcott (AUS) defeated Sam Schroder (NED) 6-1 6-0 to claim his seventh consecutive Australia Open quad singles title

*      Australians [1] Dylan Alcott and Heath Davidson won their fourth straight Australian Open quad doubles title.

AO 2021 competitors

*      A total of 494 players from 62 nations competed across all events, including qualifying, singles, doubles and wheelchair

*      The nation with the most competitors was the USA with 47 players