Forli Challenger Launched By MEF Tennis Events

Internazionali di Tennis Città di Forli (photo: Roberto Dell’Olivo)

FORLI, May 25, 2021

The ATP Challenger Tour will return to the Emilia-Romagna region in Northern Italy with the second edition of the Internazionali di Tennis Città di Forli “Memorial Piero Contavalli”. The €44,820 clay-court tournament, organized by MEF Tennis Events, will be hosted by the Villa Carpena Tennis Club from 12 to 19 June, one week ahead of the qualifying at Wimbledon.

Italian young gun Lorenzo Musetti captured his maiden Challenger title in Forli last year. The teenager defeated Brazilian qualifier Thiago Monteiro in the final in straight sets. This year’s singles champion will earn €6,190 in prize money as well as 80 ATP Ranking points.

“We are very proud and happy that this splendid event will also be staged in 2021,” said Daniele Mezzacapo, deputy mayor of Forli, during a press conference on Monday.

Forli is situated along the Via Emilia, to the right of the Montone river, and is an important agricultural centre. The city with about 120,000 inhabitants hosts some of Italy’s culturally and artistically significant landmarks.

“It is an extremely important event for the city with an international atmosphere, also thanks to the triumph of Lorenzo Musetti, one of the strongest young Italian tennis player.  The memory of the magnificent week of 2020 will remain indelible for him and for all of us, who contributed to the realization of the tournament. We hope to see young champions competing in this year’s edition, who will be able to use the Villa Carpena Tennis Club as a springboard and then establish themselves on the stages at the most prestigious tennis events on the planet.”


Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an


Ein Beitrag geteilt von MEF tennis events (@meftennisevents)

Internazionali di Tennis Città di Forli Entry list: 

Tallon Griekspoor 131 (ATP Ranking)
Alessandro Giannessi 159
Paolo Lorenzi 167
Steven Diez 189
Cem Ilkel 198
Robin Haase 204
Maximilian Marterer 214
Tomas Martin Etcheverry 219
Quentin Halys 222
Andrea Pellegrino 234
Marco Trungelliti 236
Elliot Benchetrit 245
Mats Moraing 253
Guillermo Garcia-Lopez 257
Hugo Grenier 263
Zhe Li 265
Julian Lenz 269
Andrea Arnaboldi 271
Mischa Zverev 273
Nuno Borges 275
Roberto Quiroz 276
Malek Jaziri 277
Julien Cagnina 835