This Week On The ATP Tour – CW29

Croatia Open Umag

STARNBERG, July 19, 2021

Reigning Plava Laguna Croatia Open Umag champion Dusan Lajovic will return to the Croatian ATP 250 clay-court event as the second seed. The Serbian overcame Attila Balazs in 2019 to claim his maiden ATP Tour title, and he will try to triumph again.

One of the players to watch will be #NextGenATP star Carlos Alcaraz, who will make his Umag debut. The Spaniard reached his first tour-level semi-final in Marbella this April and is pursuing his maiden trophy at this level.

Ramos-Vinolas leads the field in Gstaad

Albert Ramos-Vinolas is the top seed, and he has already earned a crown this season in Estoril. Serbian Filip Krajinovic, Frenchman Richard Gasquet, and Slovenian Aljaz Bedene will also attempt to make deep runs.

Denis Shapovalov enjoyed a strong grass-court season, which included a run to the semi-finals at Wimbledon. Now, the Canadian will try to enjoy a strong week on clay as the top seed at the Swiss Open Gstaad.

The lefty will face a tough field at this ATP 250 in Switzerland. Roberto Bautista Agut, the 2018 champion, will once again compete in Gstaad, this time as the second seed. The Spaniard will look to claim his first trophy of the year and add to his nine tour-level titles.

Other players to watch include last week’s Bastad champion, Casper Ruud, and Cristian Garin. The Chilean has earned five ATP Tour crowns, and all of them have come on clay.

North-American hard-court swing gets underway in Mexico

Spaniard Feliciano Lopez, Argentine Federico Delbonis, and Serbian Laslo Djere will also try to shake up the field.

Great Britain’s Cameron Norrie will look to continue his career-best season at the Mifel Open in Los Cabos. The 25-year-old has reached three tour-level finals this year and is pursuing his first ATP Tour title.

Norrie is the top seed at the ATP 250 event. There will also be a strong US-American contingent in Mexico including John IsnerTaylor Fritz – who recently recovered from knee surgery – Sam Querrey and Steve Johnson. Querrey lifted the trophy in 2017 (d. Kokkinakis) and Fritz reached the final in 2019.

Other players to watch include Australian Jordan Thompson, and Italian Andreas Seppi.