Tsitsipas Leads Erste Bank Open Vienna Entry List

Stefan Dörfler/Erste Bank, Jürgen Melzer, tournament director Herwig Straka, City Council Peter Hanke, Kurt Gollowitzer/Wien Holding and Michael Tojner/VARTA (photo: emotion/Bildagentur Zolles KG/Christian Hofer).

VIENNA, September 28, 2021

The new generation dominates this year’s entry list of the Erste Bank Open. Seven of the top eight players scheduled to compete inside the Stadthalle in Vienna are only between 20 and 25 years old.

The field is led by World No. 3 Stefanos Tsitsipas. The 23-year-old Greek made his debut in Austria’s capital city last year. After a hard-fought first-round victory over Jan-Lennard Struff, Tsitsipas fell in the second round to Grigor Dimitrov after three close sets.

“The hotel and the organization were great, simply excellent. I also find the Viennese cuisine very interesting and really like it. The fans in Vienna are great, it’s fun to play in front of them,” Tsitsipas said in a video message.

The 2019 ATP Finals champion will be joined by World No. 4 Alexander Zverev of Germany, World No. 10 Casper Ruud of Norway, World No. 11 Felix Auger-Aliassime from Canada, World No. 12 Hubert Hurkacz from Poland, World No. 14 Jannik Sinner of Italy and World No. 15 Diego Schwartzman from Argentina.

Wild cards into the main draw were awarded to former World No. 1 Andy Murray from Great Britain and NextGenATP Italian Lorenzo Musetti.

The ATP Tour 500 event will be held from October 23 to 31.

For tickets, please visit the tournament’s official website.

Erste Bank Open Vienna Entry List:

1 Stefanos TSITSIPAS (GRE) 3
2 Alexander ZVEREV (GER) 4
4 Casper RUUD (NOR) 10
6 Hubert HURKACZ (POL) 12
7 Jannik SINNER (ITA) 14
10 Cristian GARIN (CHI) 17
11 Reilly OPELKA (USA) 19
12 Gael MONFILS (FRA) 20
13 Daniel EVANS (GBR) 22
14 Lorenzo SONEGO (ITA) 23
15 Ugo HUMBERT (FRA) 25
16 Alex DE MINAUR (AUS) 26
17 Cameron NORRIE (GBR) 28
18 Grigor DIMITROV (BUL) 29
19 Fabio FOGNINI (ITA) 31
20 Lloyd HARRIS (RSA) 32
21 Nikoloz BASILASHVILI (GEO) 34
22 Dusan LAJOVIC (SRB) 35
23 Filip KRAJINOVIC (SRB) 37
24 Lorenzo MUSETTI (ITA) 61 Wildcard
25 Andy MURRAY (GBR) 109 Wildcard