Munar Leads The Field At Challenger Ciudad De Guayaquil

Jaume Munar (photo: Challenger Ciudad de Guayaquil)

GUAYAQUIL, October 15, 2021

Two Top 100 players and three former champions headline the entry list of the XVII Challenger Ciudad de Guayaquil hosted by the Anexo Guayaquil Tenis Club in Ecuador. The tournament will be held from November 1 to November 7 and is an integral part of the year-end South American clay-court swing, which also features events in Argentina, Uruguay, Peru and Brazil.

World No. 70 Jaume Munar of Spain and World No. 92 Thiago Monteiro from Brazil are the top-two entries. Munar will return to Challenger level for the first since finishing-runner up to Gianluca Mager on home soil at the Marbella Open in early April. The Mallorca native advanced to the quarterfinals in Guayaquil last year but fell to Francisco Cerundolo in three sets.

Monteiro, champion of the Braga Open in Portugal earlier this season, will seek his seventh ATP Challenger career trophy. The 27-year-old is scheduled to start his South America campaign in Lima, Peru the week before.

Munar and Monteiro are joined by the winners of the past three editions in Guayaquil: Francisco Cerúndolo (World No. 110 and defending champion) from Argentina, Thiago Seyboth Wild (World No. 129, 2019 champion) from Brazil and Argentine Guido Andreozzi (World No. 264, 2018 champion) as well as 2019 finalist Hugo Dellien of Bolivia.

Ecuadorians Roberto Quiroz and Diego Hidalgo both received a wild card into the main draw.

Challenger Ciudad de Guayaquil Entry List:

Jaume Munar 70
Thiago Monteiro 92
Juan Manuel Cerundolo 103
Daniel Elahi Galan 105
Francisco Cerundolo
Juan Pablo Varillas 127
Hugo Dellien 128
Thiago Seyboth Wild 129
Sebastian Baez 140
Tomas Martin Etcheverry 144
Alejandro Tabilo 184
Vit Kopriva 198
Renzo Olivo 199
Felipe Meligeni Rodrigues Alves 205
Thiago Agustin Tirante 206
Nicolas Jarry 217
Dimitar Kuzmanov 218
Camilo Ugo Carabelli 220
Facundo Mena 245
Jesper De Jong 246
Andrea Collarini 248
Juan Pablo Ficovich 259
Guido Andreozzi 264