Coria Leads Gran Canaria Challenger Entry List

Federico Coria (photo: Marta Magni)


World No. 65 Federico Coria of Argentina and World No. 67 Gianluca Mager from Italy lead the entry of the Gran Canaria Challenger. This was announced by MEF Tennis Events, the Italian organizers of the €45,730 clay-court event on Thursday. The third edition of the tournament will be held from 28 February to 6 March at the El Cortijo Club de Campo in Telde, Gran Canaria.

Coria is a three-time champion on the ATP Challenger Tour. The 29-year-old was successful at the Czech Open in Prostejov and at the Aberto da Republica in Brazil’s capital city Brasilia last year. Mager will come to the Canary Islands seeking his fifth Challenger career trophy. His last triumph took place on Spanish soil when he lifted the trophy of the 2021 Andalucia Open in Marbella.

Last year, back-to-back Gran Canaria Challenger tournaments took place at the same venue, which is located approximately 15 kilometers south of the capital Las Palmas in Telde, the second largest city in Gran Canaria. The international airport can be reached by car in just 10 minutes. In 2021, the stars of the Challenger circuit stayed at the Bull Reina Isabel & Spa Hotel, overlooking the well-known Playa de Las Canteras in Las Palmas.

“The island is wonderful and offers perfect conditions for the athletes, who felt comfortable last year and were able to give their best on the court,” tournament director David Marrero said. “It is an exceptional achievement that two Top 70 players will headline the field and their presence will be felt on the island. The entry list with a cut-off at World No. 286 indicates tennis at highest level.”

The first edition was won by Frenchman Enzo Couacaud, who beat Canadian veteran Steven Diez in the final. The second week concluded with the title win of Carlos Gimeno Valero. The Spaniard lifted his maiden Challenger trophy following a straight-sets victory over Kimmer Coppejans from Belgium in the championship match.

Gran Canaria Challenger Entry List

Federico Coria 65
Gianluca Mager 67
Jiri Vesely 123
Andrej Martin 134
Salvatore Caruso 151
Pedro Sousa 168
Federico Gaio 176
Gian Marco Moroni 196
Alessandro Giannessi 198
Marco Trungelliti 200
Kimmer Coppejans 216
Lorenzo Giustino 219
Mathias Bourgue 229
Timofey Skatov 234
Joao Domingues 253
Steven Diez 264
Lukas Rosol 274
Goncalo Oliveira 275
Duje Ajdukovic 283
Eduard Esteve Lobato 285
Gerald Melzer 286