Tuks International W60 Wild Cards Announced

Tayla Wilmot (photo: Picture Cafe)

TSHWANE, March 26, 2022 (Tennis South Africa Press Release)

South Tennis South Africa (TSA) has announced the names of players who have received wild card entries into the Tuks International, Africa’s first $60,000 level tournament which gets underway on Sunday at TuksTennis, University of Pretoria.

South Africa’s leading women’s player Zoe Kruger, who won her first ITF Pro title last year at the TuksTennis Courts, received a main draw wild card alongside her sister Isabella Kruger, as well as Tyla Wilmot and Relebogile Sereo.

The Kruger sisters, Zoe and Isabella, who are currently ranked 427 and 713, respectively, will lead the South African charge. Zoe will be looking for a repeat of the run that carried her to her maiden title at TuksTennis in 2021.

Wilmot, a 16-year-old junior from Gauteng Central who claimed her maiden ITF Grade 4 and 5 level junior titles earlier this year in Durban, Potchefstroom and Bloemfontein will be hoping to gain experience and capitalise on the points on offer on home soil.

Relebogile Sereo of Kempton Park who has recently been training and playing matches in  Brazil will boost South Africa’s main-draw representation to four players.

A wild card into the qualifying draw was awarded to 15-year-old Danielle Chapman from Gauteng East.

The ITF $60,000 World Tennis Tour event which is part of TSA’s commitment to stage more elite women’s events will be the first of back-to-back ITF women’s tournaments hosted at the University.

It will the largest ITF women’s tournament held in South Africa in over a decade and precedes the third staging of an ITF $25,000 World Tennis Tour tournament named after former South African No. 1 Ilana Kloss which will take place from 3 to 10 April at the same venue.

The new W60 category tournament will be the most significant ITF tournament held in the country since the 2011 $100,000+H Johannesburg event and represents another milestone step for tennis in the nation.

Semi-finals and finals of the event will be broadcast LIVE on SABC Sport on DTT Channel 4, Openview 124 and Livestream on Tennis SA YouTube channel.

Wild cards

Main draw

  1. Zoe Kruger
  2. Isabella Kruger
  3. Tyla Wilmot
  4. Relebogile Sereo


  1. Danielle Chapman