Zverev Leads BMW Open Munich Entry List

Alexander Zverev

MUNICH, April 1, 2022

World No. 4 Alexander Zverev leads the entry list of the 2022 BMW Open by American Express. This was announced by the organizers of the ATP Tour 250 clay-court tournament during a virtual press conference on Friday morning.

The 24-year-old two-time champion will be joined by fellow Top 10 player Casper Ruud from Norway. The World No. 8 will make his fourth appearance at the venue of the MTTC Iphitos. Ruud reached the semi-finals in Munich last year but fell to eventual champion Nikoloz Basilashvili of Georgia. 2019 winner Cristian Garin of Chile will also return to Bavaria’s picturesque capital city.

Kohlschreiber receives wild card

Tournament director Patrik Kühnen awarded the first of three wild cards into the 28-man main draw to three-time champion Philipp Kohlschreiber. The 38-year-old German captured the titles in Munich 2007, 2012 and 2016. “I am really happy. I haven’t played that many tournaments in recent times but I feel fit and I am enjoying a good week in Marbella. I am very pleased with my performance here on clay,” World No. 129 Kohlschreiber told the journalists ahead of his quarterfinal match at the AnyTech365 Andalucia Open ATP Challenger 125 event in Southern Spain.

The BMW Open by American Express is the first of four German tournaments on the season’s ATP Tour calendar. The International Tennis Championships of Bavaria will be held from April 25 to May 1. For the first time, it will also feature a wheelchair tennis event offering a total prize money of €30,000. Some the world’s best players are scheduled to compete in the inaugural Allianz Para Trophy on Thursday and Friday.

For tickets, please visit the tournament’s official website.

BMW Open Entry List 

1 Alexander Zverev 4
2 Casper Ruud 8
3 Reilly Opelka 18
4 Nikoloz Basilashvili 20
5 Daniel Evans 27
6 Cristian Garin 30
7 Alexander Bublik 33
8 Filip Krajinovic 40
Ilya Ivashka 41
Botic van de Zandschulp 42
Miomir Kecmanovic 48
Marcos Giron 52
Mackenzie McDonald 54
Marton Fucsovics 55
Jan-Lennard Struff 56
Tallon Griekspoor 57
Alex Molcan 65
Hugo Gaston 68
Daniel Altmaier 69