Houston Draws Revealed, Top Eight Seeds All In Top 40 Rankings

US Men’s Clay Court Championship

HOUSTON, April 2, 2022 (Press Release)

The Fayez Sarofim & Co. U.S. Men’s Clay Court Championship released the draws for the ATP 250 tournament that takes place April 2-10 at River Oaks Country Club in Houston.

The top eight seeds of the singles draw are all in the top 40 ATP Tour rankings for the first time ever at River Oaks Country Club. Casper Ruud, the 2019 finalist and current World No. 8, headlines the 28-player singles field as the No. 1 seed. The top four seeds, who have a first-round bye, include Ruud, Americans Taylor Fritz (No. 13), Reilly Opelka (No. 18), and 2013 River Oaks champion John Isner (No. 22).

Defending champion Cristian Garin (No. 30) is the No. 5 seed while a trio of Americans Frances Tiafoe (No. 31), Tommy Paul (No. 37) and Jenson Brooksby (No. 39) round out the seeded talent.

ATP Tour tennis returns to River Oaks for the first time since 2019 starting Saturday at 11 a.m. with qualifying. The two-round qualifying tournament for the final four main draw spots is free admission and features players from seven different countries.

Ruud, who won five titles in 2021, recently advanced to his first ATP Masters 1000 final in Miami earlier on Friday. The seven-time ATP Tour titleholder is the first Norwegian player in tournament history to earn the top seed.

Fritz is the tournament’s No. 2 seed after winning his first career ATP Masters 1000 title in Indian Wells last month. The No. 3 seed Opelka won his third career ATP Tour title in Dallas and reached the final in Delray Beach back in February. Isner, a 16-time ATP Tour champion, earned the No. 4 seed and will be making his 12th appearance at River Oaks.

Garin faces former champion Jack Sock (2015), who got in the main draw as a wild card. The No. 6 seed Tiafoe takes on former NCAA singles champion from UCLA Marcos Giron while the No. 7 seed Paul faces Germany’s Peter Gojowczyk. The No. 8 seed Brooksby will compete against former All-American from Ohio State University J.J. Wolf, who received a wild card.

Six-time ATP Tour winner Nick Kyrgios, the tournament’s first wild card, will face another former NCAA singles champion from UCLA Mackenzie McDonald in the first round.

After withdrawals, two-time champion Steve Johnson (2017, 2018) and two-time finalist Sam Querrey (2010, 2015) were added to the main draw. Querrey faces Colombia’s Daniel Elahi Galan in the first round while Johnson takes on fellow American Denis Kudla.

The doubles draw features 16 teams, including the wild card duo of Kyrgios, the Australian Open doubles champion, and three-time Major doubles champion Sock. Australian Open finalists Matthew Ebden and Max Purcell earned the No. 1 seed and will face 2012 doubles champion Querrey and Johnson, one of four all-American doubles duos in the field.

Main draw action for singles and doubles begins on Monday at 2 p.m.