Doig And Greyling Claim Top Honours At Growthpoint Junior Nationals

Connor Thomas Doig (left) and Rohan Loubser (photo: Charle Lombard)

MANGAUNG, April 4, 2022 (Tennis South Africa Press Release)

The final day of the Growthpoint Junior Nationals came to an exciting conclusion in Mangaung on Monday, and it was Line Greyling (Free State) and Connor Thomas Doig (Gauteng central) who claimed top honours in the under-18 category.

Second seeded Greyling was up against Gauteng North’s Nadia Gouws and played dazzling tennis to win the match 7-5, 6-2. In the boys’ final, unseeded Doig recovered from a set down to beat fourth seed Rohan Loubser (Western Cape) 4-6, 6-3, 6-2 to claim the title.

In other results, top seed Gareth Igesund (Western Cape) rallied back in the boys under-16 final, after dropping the first set, to win 2-6, 7-5, 6-2 against Reuben de Klerk (North-West). MariLouise van Zyl (North-West) eased past Free State’s Donna Le Roux 6-3, 6-2 to lift the girls under-16 singles trophy.

Connor Doig from KwaZulu-Natal survived a closely contested battle against Siyabonga Jaca, also from KwaZulu-Natal, to lift the boys under 14 singles title. Gauteng North’s Morgan Jordaan claimed the girls’ title after a dominant victory over Milla Kotze (Winelands) 6-3, 6-0.

Meanwhile Nicholas Kruger (Western Cape) and Milan Swanepoel also from the Western Cape secured the boys and girls under 12 singles titles, respectively.

Kruger had to dig deep in the boys’ category showpiece match to beat Lukas Calitz from the Winelands 6-3, 1-6, 6-1, while Swanepoel upset top seed Jordan Edwards (Gauteng Central) 6-2, 7-5.

Final Results




Connor Thomas Doig (GC) bt 4-Rohan Loubser (WC) 4-6, 6-3, 6-2


1-Gareth Igesund (WC) bt 6-Reuben de Klerk (NW) 2-6, 7-5, 6-2


1-Connor Doig (KZN) bt 2-Siyabonga Jaca (KZN) 7-6, 7-6


2-Nicholas Kruger (WC) bt 5-Lukas Calitz (WC) 6-3, 1-6, 6-1



2-Line Greyling (FS) bt 6-Nadia Gouws (GN) 7-5, 62


1-MariLouise van Zyl (NW) bt 2-Donna Le Roux (FS) 6-3, 6-2


1-Morgan Jordaan (GN) bt 3-Milla Kotze (WC) 6-3, 6-0


2-Milan Swanepoel (WC) bt 1-Jordan Edwards (GC) 6-2, 7-5