Johnson Advances At US Clay In Houston

Steve Johnson


Two-time champion Steve Johnson, who has won 10 of his last 11 matches at the Fayez Sarofim & Co. U.S. Men’s Clay Court Championship in Houston, defeated his compatriot Denis Kudla on Tuesday and is one of 10 US-Americans in the second round.

Other notable successful home favourites include former Ohio State All-American JJ Wolf, two-time finalist Sam Querrey and Frances Tiafoe. The 10 US-Americans in the second round is tied for the most at US Clay in the Houston-era set in 2018.


* Defending champion Cristian Garin moved to 6-0 at River Oaks with his win over 2015 champion Jack Sock.

* Three former champions Garin (2019), Johnson (2017 + 2018) and John Isner (2013) remain in the field.

* Houston-born Gijs Brouwer, who is representing the Netherlands, won his first career ATP Tour match on Tuesday.

* Former Ohio State All-American JJ Wolf won his first career ATP Tour match on clay.

Tuesday, April 5, 2022Singles – First Round [5] Cristian Garin (Chile) def. [WC] Jack Sock (USA) 4-6, 6-3, 7-5 [6] Frances Tiafoe (USA) def. Marcos Giron (USA) 6-4, 6-4 [7] Tommy Paul (USA) def. Peter Gojowczyk (Germany) 6-7(4), 7-6(5), 3-2 retired (left calf strain) [WC] J.J. Wolf (USA) def. [8] Jenson Brooksby (USA) 6-4, 6-4Steve Johnson (USA) def. Denis Kudla (USA) 6-3, 4-6, 6-4[WC] Nick Kyrgios (Australia) def. Mackenzie McDonald (USA) 4-6, 6-3, 6-4  Sam Querrey (USA) def. Daniel Elahi Galan (Colombia) 7-6(0), 3-6, 7-6(6)  [Q] Gijs Brouwer (Netherlands) def. Feliciano Lopez (Spain) 6-4, 6-2Pablo Cuevas (Uruguay) def. [Q] Max Purcell (Australia) 7-6(7), 6-3 Alejandro Table (Chile) def. [Q] Christian Harrison (USA) 6-1, 6-4Jordan Thompson (Australia) def. [LL] Steven Diez (Canada) 6-3, 6-2[Q] Mitchell Krueger (USA) def. Juan Pablo Varillas (Peru) 5-1 retired (upset stomach/nausea) Doubles – First Round Luke Saville (Australia) & John-Patrick Smith (Australia) def. [4] Hans Hach Verdugo (Mexico) & Austin Krajicek (USA) 7-5, 2-6, 10-8 Nicholas Monroe (USA) & Fernando Romboli (Brazil) def. Sadio Doumbia (France) & Fabien Reboul (France) 6-3, 6-4