NECKARCUP Heilbronn Awaits Five Top 100 Players

Neckarcup Heilbronn organizers: Metehan Cebeci, Mine Cebeci, Tom Bucher (photo: Philipp Föll)


The ATP Challenger Tour will soon return to Heilbronn, known for its wine industry and situated less than an hour north of Stuttgart, Germany for the eighth edition of the award-winning NECKARCUP. The €90,280 clay-court event will be held from May 8 to 14 at the TC Heilbronn Trappensee E.V. 1892, one of the few remaining clubs on the ATP Challenger Tour to be founded in the 1800s.

World No. 69 Daniel Altmaier leads this year’s entry list. The 23-year-old German will bid for his fourth ATP Challenger crown, his third on home soil after Braunschweig and Lüdenscheid last year. Altmaier will be joined by four more Top 100 players: 2018 runner-up Jiri Vesely from the Czech Republic, veteran Ricardas Berankis of Lithuania, Czech young gun Jiri Lehecka and Argentine clay-court specialist Facundo Bagnis. 2018 singles champion Rudolf Molleker of Germany will also return to Heilbronn.

For the first time since the outbreak of the coronavirus crisis, spectators will be allowed to return to the NECKARCUP. Besides the tennis action they will also have the chance to enjoy on-site catering again, as well as a couple of side-events to take place in the evening.

“Three years after the last ‘normal’ tournament, we are incredibly happy that in 2022 we will be able to build on the level of 2019 and welcome as many spectators as possible to the venue. The online pre-ticket sale via our partner diginights is going better than ever and we are very confident that the players will be able to play in front of full stands,” tournament director Metehan Cebeci said during a press conference last week.

For more information and tickets, please visit the tournament’s official website.


1 Daniel Altmaier 69
2 Jiri Vesely 75
3 Ricardas Berankis 90
4 Jiri Lehecka 93
5 Facundo Bagnis 99
6 Daniel Elahi Galan 113
7 Radu Albot 122
8 Mats Moraing 125
Chun-hsin Tseng 127
Andrej Martin 129
Zdenek Kolar 137
Ernesto Escobedo 140
Marc-Andrea Huesler 144
Mitchell Krueger 146
Tomas Machac 150
Egor Gerasimov 155
Gilles Simon 159
Facundo Mena 163
Camilo Ugo Carabelli 168
Pedro Cachin 174
Bjorn Fratangelo 176