Thiem Receives Wild Card Into Perugia Challenger

Dominic Thiem (photo: Brigitte Urban)


Dominic Thiem has received a wild card into the main draw of the seventh edition of the Tennis Città di Perugia | G.I.Ma. Tennis Cup. This was announced by MEF Tennis Events, organizers of the ATP Challenger 125 clay-court tournament, on Thursday. The tournament will be held on from June 5 to 12 in Perugia, capital city of Umbria in central Italy with about 170,000 inhabitants. It is located about 164 kilometres north of Rome and 148 kilometres southeast of Florence, covering a high hilltop and part of the valleys around the area.

The 28-year-old Austrian superstar, currently ranked World No. 194, is still on his way back after his wrist injury. Thiem will join a star-studded line up at the Tennis Club Perugia, one of the oldest venues on the Circuit with a 120-year-old heritage, featuring seven Top 100 players. World No. 51 Laslo Djere, winner in 2017, and 56th-ranked Filip Krajinovic of Serbia lead the entry list. Spaniards Carlos Taberner and Jaume Munar, as well as defending champion Tomas Martin Etcheverry of Argentina, Argentine Facundo Bagnis and Thiago Monteiro round out the top favourites for the title.

“Our season in Italy couldn’t have started better than this,” says Marcello Marchesini, president of MEF Tennis Events. “It looks like the entry list of our ATP 250 tournament organized in Montechiarugolo in May 2021. Seven players in the Top 100, two of them ranked inside the Top 60. It is safe to say that the players know us perfectly and appreciate our organization, an important factor in the choice of tournaments. A key factor is also the extraordinary location of the Perugia Tennis Club, definitely one of our favorites.”

Perugia Entry List 

1 Laslo Djere 51
2 Filip Krajinovic 56
3 Carlos Taberner 88
4 Tomas Martin Etcheverry 90
5 Jaume Munar 91
6 Facundo Bagnis 98
7 Thiago Monteiro 100
8 Roberto Carballes Baena 102
Daniel Elahi Galan 108
Pablo Cuevas 118
Gianluca Mager 119
Juan Pablo Varillas 122
Elias Ymer 129
Juan Manuel Cerundolo 132
Bernabe Zapata Miralles 133
Marco Cecchinato 134
Juan Ignacio Londero 141
Flavio Cobolli 153
Franco Agamenone 155
Gastao Elias 157
Gian Marco Moroni 166