Zapata Miralles At The Top Of Sauerland Open Entry List

Bernabe Zapata Miralles (photo: Florian Heer)


The ATP Challenger Tour will return to Germany in two weeks for the second edition of the Platzmann Sauerland Open. The €45,730 clay-court tournament will be held at the LTV 1899 in Lüdenscheid.

World No. 97 Bernabe Zapata Miralles, who reached the fourth round of a Grand-Slam event for the first time at Roland-Garros, leads the entry list. The 25-year-old Spaniard will be bidding for his fourth Challenger crown, his first of the season and second on German soil following his triumph at the NECKARCUP in Heilbronn last year.

Juan Pablo Varillas leads a strong contingent of South Americans in the field. The 115th-ranked Peruvian will be joined by the Chileans Tomas Barrios Vera and Nicolas Jarry, as well as many Argentines like Camilo Ugo Carabelli, Juan Ignacio Londero, Marco Trungelliti, Renzo Olivo and Santiago Rodriguez Taverna.

Dutch veteran Robin Haase has been awarded a wild card into the main draw and home favourite Mats Moraing will make his debut in Lüdenscheid.

“The quality of the field will be even greater than last year,” tournament director Rogier Wassen stated in a press release. “The fans can look forward to eight exciting days. More German players are expected to be part of the line-up.”


Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an


Ein Beitrag geteilt von Platzmann Sauerland Open (@sauerlandopen)

Entry List 

1 Bernabe Zapata Miralles 97
2 Juan Pablo Varillas 115
3 Zdenek Kolar 117
4 Mats Moraing 125
5 Tomas Barrios Vera 126
6 Jurij Rodionov 129
7 Nicolas Jarry 135
8 Camilo Ugo Carabelli 137
Juan Ignacio Londero 140
Roman Safiullin 143
Pablo Cuevas 145
Tomas Machac 147
Manuel Guinard 152
Flavio Cobolli 157
Marco Cecchinato 160
Lucas Pouille 162
Gian Marco Moroni 169
Marco Trungelliti 177
Renzo Olivo 178
Filip Horansky 182
Santiago Rodriguez Taverna 194