Kovacevic, Krueger Continue To Lead US Open Wild Card Challenge

On the grounds of the Billie Jean King USTA National Tennis Center (photo: Michael Dickens)

USTA Press Release, August 2, 2022

Aleks Kovacevic and Ashlyn Krueger continue to lead the US Open Wild Card Challenge standings as the Challenge enters its final two weeks.

Kovacevic leads second-place Evan Zhu by 38 points as the men’s side of the Challenge enters its fourth of five weeks:

1. Aleks Kovacevic — 1042. Evan Zhu — 663. Emilio Nava — 38

Krueger remains in the lead of the Women’s Challenge, though Katrina Scott’s singles title at the USTA Pro Circuit W25 event in Dallas saw her rise to second place, trailing Krueger by only 15 points. The standings after Week 2 of 4 for the women are as follows:

1. Ashlyn Krueger — 802. Katrina Scott — 653. Jamie Loeb — 60

The Challenge utilizes hard-court pro tournaments to award an American man and woman a main draw wild card into the US Open. Both wild cards will go to the American with the highest cumulative total of ATP or WTA singles ranking points earned from their best three results during their respective windows. Both the men’s and women’s Challenges will include results from any professional hard-court event at the 25 level and above around the world. Both main draw and qualifying points earned count toward each player’s Challenge total.

Americans who otherwise earn direct entry into the US Open are not eligible, nor are players ranked in the ATP or WTA Top 50 when the Challenges begin. Should the player with the highest number of Challenge points earn direct entry into the US Open, the wild card will go to the next eligible American in the Challenge points standings. In the event of a tie, the player with the best ATP or best WTA singles ranking on August 15 will earn the wild card.

Previous US Open Wild Card Challenge winners (and how they did at that year’s US Open) are below:

2019: Ernesto Escobedo (1R), Kristie Ahn (4R)

2018: Bradley Klahn (1R), Asia Muhammad (1R)

2017: Tommy Paul (1R), Sofia Kenin (3R)

2016: Ernesto Escobedo (2R), Sofia Kenin (1R)

2015: Bjorn Fratangelo (1R), Samantha Crawford (1R)

2014: Wayne Odesnik (1R), Nicole Gibbs (3R)

2013: Bradley Klahn (2R), Shelby Rogers (1R)

2012: Steve Johnson (3R), Mallory Burdette (3R)