All You Need To Know About Davis Cup 2022

Davis Cup (photo: Florian Heer)

STARNBERG, September 12, 2022 (Guest Post)

The Davis Cup is the most prestigious and much-followed men’s tennis team competition. Some tennis fans even refer to it as the “World Cup of Tennis” which shows the high profile of the tournament which was held in 1900 for the first time. 

Delving into the history, only few nations competed in the inaugural edition: Great Britain competed with the United States. Over time, more nations entered the competition: in 2016, 135 countries presented their best men’s tennis teams to win the coveted trophy. 

However, the Davis Cup has undergone some noticeable changes. The previous format of the competition was highlighted by the fact that any competing team could play away or at home and this in turn meant that fans had more opportunities to root for their country without the necessity of traveling. 

In 2019, the Davis Cup changed its format and  extended the number of participating teams to 18. The final stage is held in one place welcoming all countries to compete in one week.

The long-awaited Davis Cup 2022 is starting with the group stage played in September 14-18 in 4 different counties: Spain, Germany, Italy and Great Britain. 

Decided group stage cities: 

  • Bologna, Italy
  • Glasgow, Great Britain
  • Hamburg, Germany
  • Valencia, Spain

After the group stage, the knockout round is set to take all the attention of tennis fans around the world. The stage will be held on November 23-27, in Malaga. 

If you would like to guess the finalists of Davis Cup 2022 and try your skills in the match prediction, the Bookmaker ratings gives useful tips on free bets. Click on the link to find plenty of bonuses for your first bet. 

Which countries will play in September in the group stage? 

The group stage draw has decided on the 4 groups of 4 teams to compete with the hosting countries in every group. 

Group A is set to play in Italian Bologna with Italy as a hosting nation welcoming Croatia, Argentina and Sweden. 

Group B include Spain, Serbia, Canada and South Korea. 

Group C presents France, Belgium, Australia and Germany as a host country. 

And last but not the least, Group D will be playing in Glasgow and include USA, Great Britain, Kazakhstan and Netherlands. 

Over the decades, the United States team starred Bill Tilden, John McEnroe, Pete Sampras, Jack Kramer. Even though since 2007, the United States has not won the Davis Cup title, the country remains the most winning nation in the Davis Cup’s history with 32 champion titles. The USA also finished the final stage of the tournament as runners-up for 29 times. 

For the 2022 Davis Cup, the US Tennis Association summoned Taylor Fritz, Tommy Paul, Jack Sock and Rajeev Ram for the group stage matches with Frances Tiafoe withdrawing from a team roster after the US Open semifinals. 

In their first group stage matches the US team will play Great Britain. Both nations played twice against each other since 2000, with the Brits defeating the Americans two years in a row, in 2014 and 2015.