Davis Cup Finals Line-Ups Unveiled

Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals (photo: Silver Szpylma / Kosmos Tennis)

ITF Press Release, October 24, 2022

World No. 1 Carlos Alcaraz headlines an impressive list of players competing in this year’s Davis Cup by Rakuten Final 8 after nations named their teams on Monday.

The Spaniard, who became the youngest-ever No. 1 after winning the US Open in September, got his first taste of Davis Cup during the Group Stage in Valencia.

Now the 19-year-old will be looking to emulate his icon, Rafael Nadal, as he attempts to lift the Davis Cup trophy in his first final appearance, but Spain face some stiff opposition if they are to make the event showpiece in Malaga.

Sergi Bruguera’s men are slated to play Croatia – last year’s runners-up – in the quarter-finals, before a possible semi-final against the winner of Australia v Netherlands.

Among the teenagers to have helped their teams to win the Davis Cup title in the past are Nadal, Pat Cash, Michael Chang, Lleyton Hewitt and Stefan Edberg.


Alcaraz is not the only face of the future to feature in this year’s Davis Cup Final 8. Canada will have both Felix Auger-Aliassime and Denis Shapovalov for the first time since the inaugural 2019 Finals when Frank Dancevic’s men finished runners-up to a Nadal-inspired Spain.

Canada, who take on Germany in the quarter-finals, will need to be at their best if they are to come through a loaded half of the draw that also features Italy v USA in the last 8.

That tie alone features four Top 20 talents in the shape of Taylor Fritz, Jannik Sinner, Matteo Berrettini and Frances Tiafoe.

The Davis Cup quarter-finals begin on Tuesday 22 November, with Australia taking on Netherlands in the first tie of the week. The semi-finals will be played on Friday 25 and Saturday 26 November, with the 2022 Davis Cup final taking place on Sunday 27 November.

Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals 2022 – Final 8 schedule


Tuesday 22 November, 1600 CET – Australia v Netherlands
Wednesday 23 November, 1600 CET – Croatia v Spain
Thursday 24 November, 1000 CET – Italy v USA
Thursday 24 November, not before 1600 CET – Germany v Canada


Friday 25 November, 1600 CET – Australia or Netherlands v Croatia or Spain
Saturday 26 November, 1300 CET – Italy or USA v Germany or Canada

Davis Cup final

Sunday 27 November, 1300 CET – Winner semi-final 1 v Winner semi-final 2

Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals 2022 – Final 8 squads


Alex de Minaur
Thanasi Kokkinakis
Matthew Ebden
Max Purcell
Captain: Lleyton Hewitt


Botic van de Zandschulp
Tallon Griekspoor
Tim van Rijthoven
Wesley Koolhof
Matwe Middelkoop
Captain: Paul Haarhuis


Marin Cilic
Borna Coric
Borna Gojo
Mate Pavic
Nikola Mektic
Captain: Vedran Martic


Carlos Alcaraz
Pablo Carreno Busta
Roberto Bautista Agut
Marcel Granollers
Captain: Sergi Bruguera


Jannik Sinner
Matteo Berrettini
Lorenzo Musetti
Fabio Fognini
Simone Bolelli
Captain: Filippo Volandri


Taylor Fritz
Frances Tiafoe
Tommy Paul
Jack Sock
Captain: Mardy Fish


Oscar Otte
Jan-Lennard Struff
Yannick Hanfmann
Tim Puetz
Kevin Krawietz
Captain: Michael Kohlmann


Felix Auger-Aliassime
Denis Shapovalov
Vasek Pospisil
Alexis Galarneau
Gabriel Diallo
Captain: Frank Dancevic